1998 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 11 of 17

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A go kart with a killer engine

Faults:

The head gasket has blown three times.

The exhaust has been replaced.

The engine management system needed replacing when it was two months old.

The air bag warning light flashes constantly.

The alarm goes off for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

Despite these problems the car is an absolute joy to drive. Every journey is fantastic (unless you're going a long way down the motorway). The handling is superb. It is very difficult to drive this car slowly and it does make you drive like a bit of a hooligan!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

11th Dec 2002, 14:14

The airbag light is probably a broken wiring harness under the drivers seat. Your Pug dealer should be able to patch it up under warranty.

11th Dec 2002, 17:41

Hi - I wonder if 1998 was a bad year for 106 GTIs as mine has all of the problems you state and more besides. I'm onto my second head gasket: £680 worth of repairs (head skim, new radiator too) from a Pug dealer, thankfully under warranty. Not sure it's entirely fixed to be honest. Time will tell. However for some reason this is still the best car I've owned!

4th Jul 2003, 10:18

I think I have had the worst luck of all with my 1998 GTI. I bought the car from Peak Performance motors in Hounslow, London without a warranty... Silly me. Two days after I bought it the Head Gasket went, then the radiator... a nice hefty £650.00 bill for me. Since then the water pump has broken, its had 2 new tyres, 2 catalytic converters, the injectors have thought to have been faulty, and the oxygen sensor... It won't start properly, runs lumpy... its actually got a full service history and is up to date with all services. I want to sell the car, I have advertised it, but no luck! Can anyone at all help me, I don't know what else to do! Gemmaandgreg@ntlworld.com.

8th Mar 2006, 07:33

The R's and S reg GTi's suffer a lot from head gasket problems. Received an uprated metal gasket in newer models which helped a lot with the strength of the engine. My gasket had just gone (oil in water) I'm not a mechanic, but am patient and am confident I can repair this myself - save yourself a few bob. Make sire you buy the uprated gasket and it's made by peugeot or a reliable performance make.

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from Turkey

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance178500 kilometres
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

Nice car

Faults:

Catalytic convertor is finished after 150.000 Km, but it has worked longer than expected.

Tires, which are used for performance such as 185/55/14, get damaged because of the bad roads in Turkey.

Alternator has broke down.

Some oil leakage from the motor and gear box.

Big cars usually don't give you enough road when you want to pass them.

Poor interior comfort.

General Comments:

Very good acceleration.

Very reliable motor and mechanicals. I made 178.000KM, but car still shows the same performance.

Very good handling.

Good brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A nightmare

Faults:

The Catalytic converter went 3 months after buying the car.

I needed a new engine 1 month later.

It won't idle correctly.

It won't start sometimes.

It keeps breaking down.

It also got a new manifold sensor, fuel pump and coil block and it still won't idle or start correctly.

The sunroof leaks.

The air bag light keeps flashing.

General Comments:

This car is great to drive and handles well, when it chooses to start. I really wish I knew how to fix it as I've tried just about everything. Any ideas?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

31st Mar 2003, 04:17

Bit of a long shot, but did you manage to sort out your idling problems, as my 106 GTI is suffering exactly the same mid-life crisis? Any ideas on how to fix it would be great. Ta.

15th Apr 2003, 07:42

With regards to the idling problems, get a Peugeot dealer to check your oxygen sensor (attached to the exhaust manifold). Mine was faulty a few months ago and was causing me terrible idling and acceleration problems. During a regular service Peugeot told me it was faulty and offered to replace it for £90 + VAT! But I picked one up from a scrapyard for £25 all in; it was from a Peugeot 306.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 66 reviews