1998 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 13 of 17

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17500 miles
Most recent distance17600 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

The BMW/MINI garage I bought this from had steam cleaned the engine. When I picked it up it was running on 3 cylinders and sounded like tractor over 3000rpm. It was very slow.

They lent me a MINI Cooper for the day while they sorted it out. Now it's a little rocket.

The panels do dent easily - but the dealership did manage to sort them all out reasonably well.

General Comments:

At first I thought I would regret getting the 106 having driven a brand new MINI, but no! I actually thought the 106 was a better drive.

Very good acceleration - but then you always want more when you get used to it, don't you?

Extremely good handling - especially for a FWD car.

The power steering is nicely weighted (you can't do a 3 point turn with your palm). It communicates superbly with the driver!

Some people think this car looks dated - well it has been around for five years or so, but I think it looks great still.

The interior is typical French car - lots of plastic, but the leather and suede seats are a great addition. The firm suspension shows up a few rattles, no great annoyance.

Seems a very well respected car... Clarkson frequently features the 106 GTI in his TV programmes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2002

1998 Peugeot 106 XS 1.6 from Turkey

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 kilometres
Most recent distance53000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 145

Summary:

A Masterpiece in Small Cars

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

I only need to change the tyres because of the kilometer it did.

General Comments:

Unlike its small looks, its interior is very spacious and comfortable.

It really handles very well. It's a joy to drive. You got that feeling when you trash it out. But in the city traffic, it's also very relaxing and easy to drive.

The performance of the car is not bad. Because of its light-weight, it is very quick and agile. Maybe an air-filter and a performance chip will make it really quick.

The looks of the car is very good. Especially in silver.

It's also a very economical car. Even you drive fast or slow, it sips fuel. Now that is a good thing.

I recommend this car to everyone because it's the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

14th Mar 2005, 15:47

I totally agree with interior thing. I own a 106 XS and I actually manage to put 8 (including me) people in car. it really has a large space inside.

6th Jun 2005, 07:13

What you said about the air filter and chip really works. I took my XS from 90bhp up to 112bhp just with a good air filter and new chip. now it keeps up with the likes of a VTR and is not far from the VTS.

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

The harder you push this car, the better it gets.

Faults:

The alarm kept going off for no apparent reason, later discovered that the interior sensors were faulty.

When I purchased the car privately I found that it did not idle well, and on many occasions would cut out, however after a full service everything is running smoothly.

General Comments:

This car should not be under estimated by anything, you see the red line in no time and with a little work the performance can be even better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

The best pocket rocket around!!

Faults:

Loads of problems with the alarm when I first got it which would go off 3 times every time I parked it before settling down. Only after 3 visits back to the dealership did the problem get sorted out.

Cracked radiator recently which was caused by stones hitting it.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute blast to drive, with loads of punch and handling to match.

It looks understated on the road, and other drivers regularly mistake it for a 1.1 or something. That is only until they are left for dust away from the lights.

Down points are the high insurance costs (£1200 comp for a 21 year old). Also you don't get much miles to the gallon booting it every time you drive it, but you can't have everything!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

22nd May 2002, 17:21

I appreciate the desire to zoom away at the lights, but is this appropriate in a (probably) residential area. It is possible to pay lots of money for insurance on a mid-engined 'warm-hatch' when you are 21. Will the interest last beyond 21.5 years old?

Is the car economical? If not and you are interested in racing at the lights, will it hold a candle to my '96 Supra? If not, why not buy the excellent 306 DTurbo for less money to buy and run. This car could be even bigger than a large ego - and laster longer without becoming bruised!

Good luck!

7th Jun 2002, 09:02

The interest did last long enough because I have now just purchased a Subaru Impreza Turbo MY99.

This is even quicker away from the lights as you can appreciate and your 96 Supra would not even be able to hold a candle to it. You maybe with me on a straight, but as soon as we see some twisty bits, it is goodbye I am afraid.

I do not drive fast in residential areas which is why I can afford to get insured on this type of car. I have now just turned 23 years of age and have fully comp insurance with protected no claims for just under 2k and I live in central London.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 66 reviews