1998 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 2 of 17

1998 Peugeot 106 Zest 2 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

The brakes are not very good for a car that's quite nippy.

General Comments:

Cannot fault it; the best small car I have ever had. Shame about the brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2007

1998 Peugeot 106 Quicksliver 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Fantastic car to own and even better to drive

Faults:

Clutch was replaced at 66321 miles, started to slip.

Turbo had to be replaced in Feb 07.

General Comments:

The car sits so close to the ground it corners like its on rails.

The acceleration on the car is immense, the 0-60 time is approx 6.8 seconds (tested Oct 06)

The 1/2 leather 1/2 buckets make the ride a real comfortable one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2007

29th Mar 2007, 03:56

I think he meant 0-60 in 16.8 seconds.

29th Mar 2007, 12:23

Do you want to cover some more of this car please, more to the point, what modds have you got to get a 0-60 of 6.8. The turbo was replaced?? Tell some more of this turbo conversion, what power does it have?

30th Mar 2007, 00:45

Lol! quite amusing, I think the quicksilver's do it in about 12.3? sumthin like that.

I had the old 106, 1.4 with k&n and back box and the best time I recorded was 11s 0-60 so I'm sure the newer one would probably be a little slower.

1998 Peugeot 106 Zest 2 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired58100 miles
Most recent distance58400 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A lovely car until its problems are uncovered

Faults:

I have had my 106 for around 4 months. After only 6 days, it wouldn't start. After an hour of persistence, I left it, and came back, and it started first time. This happens every couple of weeks, and sometimes it can cut out at junctions.

The front windscreen leaked, leaving puddles of water throughout the car, and the insulation under the carpet still has not dried out to this date, leaving a horrendous cabbage smell.

My breakdown cover company have told me that my car has an "intermittent electrical fault" - I have got to know them well over the 4 months! They can't pinpoint the exact problem, but when driving over 70mph or shortly after driving on a motorway, the car will lose power when accelerating.

The car scratches very easily. Without doing them myself, my car seems to have around 10 different scratches and bumps compared to the 1 when I bought it. I have no idea how the majority of them came to be, but the paintwork seems to damage easily.

My boyfriend says the pedals are far too close together, and he presses 2 at a time if he is not careful. I have smaller feet and haven't found this though.

General Comments:

The car, if the problems are forgotten, is a beautiful little car. I fell in love with its lovely deep blue colour, and its nippy accelerating, although it shakes badly at only 70mph.

The car does at least 300 miles to a tank of petrol, which only costs me around £25. It handles well on country roads, but isn't a good motorway car.

The headlights light on the dashboard sometimes goes out and you have to hit the dashboard for it to light up again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2007

1998 Peugeot 106 Modified Quicksilver 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Bloomin Awesome!!!

Faults:

Annoying electrical problems such as:

Throttle position sensor going wrong.

Idle control stepper motor becoming faulty.

Oh nearly forgot, it wears through tyres far too quickly!!! I think that one is my fault though.

General Comments:

Amazing around any corner.

A car that will shame those costing 5 times as much down any B road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

1998 Peugeot 106 Zest 2 1.1 Direct injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Direct injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance66204 miles

Summary:

French style (can't beat it)

General Comments:

The Peugeot 106 has real style and still turns heads when driven through busy high streets.

I find it very nippy on the open road and at junctions.

The Car still looks like new and I feel the car has not dated yet.

The interior is blue and very Sporty it also has blue dials which add to the sporty, stylish image.

I have had no major problems with the car.

Find it very fun to drive can keep up with some of the biggest of cars on the open roads (WHICH MAKES ME LAUGH).

And what a roar comes of the engine!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 66 reviews