1998 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 5 of 17

1998 Peugeot 106 Look 2 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This Peugeot 106 is my first car.

It has been modified with Lexus lights, separate reversing lights, back spoiler, front spoiler etc. It has an alarm and immobolizer, central locking, sunroof and power steering. It is immaculate inside and out.

It is extremely reliable, starts every time and has never broken down.

It don't use much diesel and drives like a treat!!

What more could a girl want?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

29th Nov 2005, 14:35

This was my first car and I love it to bits, but as soon as I got it, it has caused me nothing but problems and it is very unreliable. I bought it just over a year ago and it has cost me a lot of money to keep fixing it. Even car mechanics cannot see what the problem is, but it is something to do with the engine. I think my car is a one off when it comes to these problems, but I'm just writing this as a comment on my Peugeot 106 Look 2 (petrol 1.1).

2nd Dec 2009, 10:56

I have got an R-reg 106 look2 in a metallic blue. I have owned it for the past 6 years and is the best car I have had. I have modified it with alloys, black angel light and black Lexus lights, lowered it 40mm all round on 15inch alloys and added a Pipercross air filter. It also has had a sports gear box fitted and a modified clutch and clutch cable.

I have got 110 out of it, and it was still going. It is a beast, and if ever the engine went, I will strip it and drop in a 306 GTi6 engine, roll cage and bucket seats, and spray it white. Pug look2 rated and even has power-steering, body coloured bumper, fog light and central locking as standard.

1998 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6i 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Faults:

About two weeks after getting the car the alarm system kept going off for no reason, I took it back to the main dealer where I bought it and they fixed it (Didn't seem to keen to do it, even under warranty).They said it was the ultrasonic sensors.

General Comments:

This car is very nippy for a 1.6 and does 0-60 in about 8secs.But the most outstanding thing about this car is the handling. I had mine lowered 25mm and I had so much confidence going into the corners, The car seemed easy to predict when it was about to give in to under-steer/over-steer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2005

1998 Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Frantic, fast and fun... for the under 30s

Faults:

Both front wheel bearings have had to be replaced, having done just over 60K miles. This cost 300 UKP from an independent garage. The thieves at the main dealer in London wanted double that.

Had to have a new clutch at 55K miles, but I'm surprised because me and the previous owner have both driven the car quite hard.

The front discs needed replacing at 50K miles, which wouldn't have been so bad had they not been the the second new set. Again, this could be my driving...

I've replaced the original steel wheels with new ones (original spec) because the first set had started to rust quite badly. Not expensive, really. 160 UKP for the set, plus 20 UKP to fit.

General Comments:

I really enjoy this car out of town - it's a diamond on fast A or B roads (these are non-dual carriageway roads, in case you're non-UK based and are wondering what I'm on about). But in London where I live, to be honest it's too hard-edged an experience. The power is great for cutting through traffic, but the car leaves me feeling jumpy by the time I reach my office.

Mostly, though, I'm glad I have owned this car because it's a true GTi. It's light (under 900 kilos), powerful (over 100bhp), and nimble. I always wanted to have an original Golf GTi, and I think this stands as a good replacement.

What else can I tell you... Well, the exhaust and air filter were both uprated by the previous owner (an old friend of mine), and it's resulted in a seriously noisy car. I quite like it; I don't think my neighbours do. You can hear it from several blocks away!

Don't expect much in the way of kit - that's the point, it's stripped out. Good fun, all told, but I turned 30 last year and to be honest I feel to old to be driving something like this! Time for a change, I think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2004

20th Dec 2004, 09:28

Keep it, you (...we) won't be able to buy cars like this any more in the near future.

18th Oct 2007, 14:45

Geez, you got ripped off if you payed 300 pounds to have new wheel bearings put in the front... They shouldn't have coasted more than about 30 quid and they are dead easy to fit, so dunno why that cost so much.

18th May 2010, 11:18

I have just come across this excellent site. I don't suppose anyone will read this, but I have had my Rallye since new in 1998 and driven 145,000 miles. I have had 2 head gaskets :-( but apart from that it has been wonderful and I love it. I am now 64 so you don't have to be less than 30. I do acknowledge that driving around London might be a little irksome - the clutch is quite strong - but, hey, I am disabled and I can just manage it. :-)

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 66 reviews