1989 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 5 of 14

1989 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

A unique package

Faults:

I just bought this car. The full service history shows -

New speedometer September 1993.

New brake pads July 1995.

New CV joint boots and rear wheel cylinder December 1996.

New battery April 1997.

New offside front brake hose October 1999.

New clutch cable June 2001.

Ignition module failed and replaced July 2002.

MoT fail on rear brakes October 2002.

New nearside drive-shaft, exhaust, four new tyres and front brake pads May 2003.

And that is it for repairs over nearly 14 years.

When I got the car there was a small split (stitching gone) in the driver's seat, a broken offside headlight, stiff tailgate (possibly struts gone) and the factory-fitted spot/fog lights had corroded.

General Comments:

This is the second 205XS I have owned.

The first was purchased new in August 1990. I used it as a photographer (it got hammered!) with no problems. It broke down driving home from the dealer when a pin dropped out of the gear linkage, but was otherwise faultless.

I sold it after two years and still see the buyer (whose family still runs the car), he reports the only fault was a dead battery.

The current car mirrors my original purchase. Even after nearly 14 years it still goes like stink and handles like it's on rails despite having the original shock absorbers. The interior is like new.

Best thing was my insurance, which was for a VW Polo Ranger, stayed the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1989 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired136100 miles
Most recent distance138254 miles

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

After one week of owning the vehicle the starter motor stopped working.

This was not a problem as I replaced it myself at a cost of £25.

I then put the car through its mot which it failed. (Rusty brake pipes & side lights not working).

I did the work myself, the cost was only £25!! (this is very good considering the car has done 136 000 miles!!)

It ten passed the mot, however, emissions were not too good and oil was being burnt & leaking into the coolant.

This was rectified by purchasing a head set (gaskets, valve stem oil seals etc)

General Comments:

Most of the work I had to do was because the previous owner neglected the car.

This car is ridiculously quick for its engine size and handles like it is on rails!

It's a wolf in sheep's clothing!

The bodywork is immaculate with no rust (after 15 yrs).

The seats have started to wear, but taking in to account the mileage, this is to be expected.

The car is an insurance loophole for first time drivers wanting a fast car.

0-60 in just over 9 seconds and a top speed of 112 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

1989 Peugeot 205 GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A fair car that's quick, but slightly badly built

Faults:

Not a lot really except oil leaks, wheel bearings.

General Comments:

The car is called a 205 GT, is this a 1.4 or a 1.6? Does anybody know.

The car does not seem to like hills, very steep gradients sees the basket that holds the spare wheel scrape on the ground. Smoke comes from the engine and it just doesn't seem to have the power to go (and its not my driving!)

The driving position is good, its comfortable and has a lot of power for a 1.4, or a 1.6?!?

The build quality is poor, and the ride is bad round town. The steering is pleasant in feeling. Another question, does anybody know whether A G'registration 205 Gt should have PAS, sometimes the steering is very light, but other times its very heavy (its could be the PAS is playing up)

The horn does not work.

The rear wiper has just failed.

Parts are very cheap and readily available at scrap yards.

The engine is noisy, but gear ratios are excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

11th Nov 2003, 07:36

All 205 GT's were fitted with the 1360cc 'XS' engine.

Also no 205 was fitted with PAS except Diesel and GTI models.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 51 reviews