1989 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 10 of 14

1989 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1400000 miles
Most recent distance1405999 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

It's a driver's car!

Faults:

Manifold cracked.

Brake pads changed.

Head gasket went at 1400000, so the engine was replaced.

New clutch needed.

Horn broke.

General Comments:

What a car! I previously had a 1.1 205, and ever since a 1.9 flew away from me at the lights I have always wanted one!

Its handling is unlike any other car I have ever driven, or been in, and it loves to be driven hard.

There is always some extra power left in it and you are not going to be embarrassed by many cars.

It still looks amazing and its style has not faltered over time.

The insurance is very high (I'm 19 and got quoted £5000) but it is worth every single penny. With a little work, and money, it can be amazing.

My car has been very expensive to keep on the road, I have already spent twice as much on it, than I bought it for, but once again, it is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

12th Jul 2004, 10:14

That insurance is high. I'm 18 and I've got a 1.6 GTI. It's kitted out to road rally spec, and costs £1317 to insure.

1989 Peugeot 205 Open (Special Edition) 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carRenault 11

Summary:

A great value all rounder

Faults:

The water pump had gone when we brought the car, but that only cost £30 quid to repair.

Overheating due to the water pump not working.

General Comments:

This car is great, I would definitely buy another one. It has great spec, good performance, is cheap to run and it looks great.

The only thing that I don't like about it is the fact that it has green tartan seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2001

1989 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 twin carbs (TU3S) from France

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 twin carbs (TU3S) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres

Summary:

Little devil

Faults:

Transmissions (very fragile - 50.000 km).

Driver seat in bad condition at 170000 km.

Spark module broken at 170000 km.

Clutch changed at 120000, and at 200000.

General Comments:

Very nervous.

Faster than many cars, even some 1.6L and 1.8L ones.

Starts great when cold!

Starts badly if not hot enough.

Noisy at 120 Km/h and above.

Be careful with the manual brake.

Brakes are not very efficient at high speed.

Uses the same 4 tires for a good balance (it's true for the grip AND braking).

The interior has been attacked by the sun at 150000 km (South of France!).

My next car will be a 1.9 GTI.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

1989 Peugeot 205 Rallye 1.3 from Finland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Real 205 Rallye

Faults:

Front brakes replaced.

Rear brakes replaced.

Seats were in really bad condition.

Seats changed to leather ones from a 1.9 GTI.

Some problems with the electrics because the previous owner had made some clever "adjustments"!

General Comments:

This car is very aggressive.

Handles better than any car I have driven.

Much more fun than my dad's 1.6 GTI and my brother's 1.9 GTI.

Not suitable as a first car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2001

15th Sep 2001, 15:18

Is this the 103 bhp 205 Rallye?

And how is it better than a 1.6 / 1.9 Gti?

24th Sep 2001, 01:41

Yes it is a 103 HP Rallye.

- Better build quality than a 1.6 or 1.9 (especially the paint work and rust proofing).

- No side strips/panels that come off and gather rust.

- No electric windows, central locking, air conditioning, power steering or catalyzer that are very expensive to repair or to replace.

- With little mods such as a K&N induction kit, it's faster than a 1.6 with 115 HP!

- Much cheaper insurance and the overall running costs are lower.

1989 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

An everyday usable performance bargain

Faults:

The starter motor failed at 107,000 miles, however it gave plenty of warning.

The alternator failed at 110,000 miles.

Both driveshafts failed.

Replaced both rear brake compensators at 117,000 miles.

General Comments:

Although the car has been quite unreliable, and has been the only car that has ever let me down at the road side, I would still recommend the car to others.

The parts that have failed, are parts worn through age, not design faults.

This car is also good for long journeys. I drove mine from London to Rome, in 20 hour non-stop trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 51 reviews