1989 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1989 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Buy one!! Have a ball!!!

Faults:

New radiator.

New exhaust at 64,000 miles.

Stalls sometimes when cold (still haven't found the fault. Peugeot diagnostic computer said there was nothing wrong!!!).

General Comments:

Fantastic fun on B-roads!

Rattles & squeaks a bit (turn the stereo up!!)

Performance surprises a lot of other car users.

Great chassis!

Decent mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

1989 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 TU3s from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 TU3s Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309 1.6 GLX

Summary:

An insurance friendly pocket rocket!!!

Faults:

New carb needed as the previous one packed up.

New brake lines to rear drums as bad corrosion occurred.

New (full) exhaust system needed.

Front seats had to be ripped up and welded back in as mounting brackets had come loose.

General Comments:

The XS is incredibly quick, especially when the twin choke kicks in at around 3500rpm. This is great fun to test out, but means more trips to the petrol station!

0-60mph is around 9 seconds (makes your mates very jealous!)

It's quicker than most cars of the same size (XR2's, Golfs, Si's, AX GT's).

Often the car under-steers when it is pushed into a hard corner, but overall the handling is superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

26th Sep 2001, 15:03

Sounds like a challenge to me.

26th Jul 2002, 13:36

Having owned both AX GT and 205XS, on the performance side of things the AX wins hands down, but on the subject of build quality then the pug has it!

1989 Peugeot 205 Roland Garros 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Get a good one!

Faults:

2 CV joints/driveshafts.

2 track rod ends.

CV boot.

2 sets of brake pads.

Starter motor.

Alternator.

Ignition module.

Distributor cap.

Alarm.

Heater blower.

General Comments:

I bought this car after reading good reviews from friends. However once I'd purchased it the first roundabout produced a grumbling CV joint. £140 later I had a whole new shaft. 1 month later the other side did it. Then the car didn't start. Broke down on the motorway!! Nice. Had to have two track rod ends fitted.

The car was great to drive but the problems with it added to French part costs led me to get shot of it.

Get a good one and get it checked out by the AA or whoever. Better to be safe than as sorry as I was!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2001

1989 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 carb Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

I've gotta get me one of these!

Faults:

Gear linkage bolt came loose.

Front discs needed replacing.

Mid exhaust box replaced.

General Comments:

The 205 XS provides an insurance loop-hole, allowing younger drivers to experience astounding performance from a car they can afford. I've had mine for a year and a half and it's only been in the garage twice since I bought it! The XS will keep up with a 1.6 GTI up to 60mph where its big brother will utilise its mid-range muscle. Apart from lacking some GTI trim elements, the XS sports a GTI bumper, giving it a menacing look from the front.

The interior is also modelled on the GTI but the seats by my reckoning are more comfortable, keeping you in place, especially when driving like a lunatic!

My only complaint is the loss of leaded petrol in the UK. Put a full tank of leaded in one of these babies and you really do notice how much more responsive the car can be!

If you're looking for an quick and insurable car, look no further!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

19th Feb 2001, 18:57

These XS 205's are a nippy car, but, have you every actually took on a pukka 1.6GTi? 0-60 in 8.7 secs on pants tyres!

My old 205 GR which I ran on Talbot Samba Twin Carbs was an absolute rocket, but nothing to my 145k GTi!!

Cheers.

22nd May 2001, 11:02

RU Peugeot boys. I own a 94M Metro GTI 16V MPI. It has 108BHP as standard, and will go from 0-60 in around 8.5s. It will hit about 125 MPH. Mine is slightly tuned; chip, full exhaust boost valve, and air filter, so mine is slightly quicker. 205's are good cars, but my point is that GTI Metros aren't far behind them, if anything they're in front!!! Email me for replies! TOAD2000@CWCOM.NET. All in upper case.

28th Aug 2001, 11:18

But, unfortunately, 205s have Metros beaten on looks, ride, handling, comfort, image and practicality. They also rust less.

7th Dec 2002, 08:47

I had a metro and although they are good little cars I think the 205 beats them hands down!

PS. Does a D reg 205 GT run on leaded or unleaded? adriches@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 51 reviews