18th Oct 2005, 10:16

Who wants an MG though.

21st Oct 2005, 11:01

My clio cup 172 will leave all the above for dust and that's a fact.

22nd Oct 2005, 11:35

Well I bet I could run faster than all of the above! Wouldn't breakdown as often either!

27th Oct 2005, 09:11

This is probably the last car that handles with any of the traditional Pug flair. The 307 is dull, the 407 is dull and that 1007 thing is simply diabolical.

With the 206 you get that lovely light tail feel that all the traditional hot Peugeots have had, and it turns in very sharply. Apart from slightly numb steering, I really rate this car.

By the way, whoever it is that keeps putting these MG ZS 180 comments all over this site, if you were daft enough to blow a five figure sum on a rebadged ten year old Honda with a cheap body kit then it's your problem. Please stop ranting about it on every hot hatch review on the site. Nobody actually cares. What you spent on that car would have just as well been put into a paper bag and set alight. You will never see that money again!

28th Oct 2005, 11:07

If you believe some of the nonsense on here, the Clio 182 is faster than pretty much anything else money can buy.

17th Nov 2005, 20:17

Yeh...whatever. 8.1 for 180. slow.

18th Nov 2005, 08:57

Pug 180 o-60 7.7, 0-1000m 28.6 top end 137. all pug specs from website.

20th Nov 2005, 16:53

Pug gti 180 does 0-60 in 8.1 sec 0-100 in 23.6sec.

22nd Nov 2005, 07:13

If anyone wants a laugh read the review on the 96' 306 xsi.

29th Nov 2005, 14:13

Theres always the option of the GTi 180 a 180bhp version of the GTi costing £15,220 and reaching 60mph in a mere 7.3 seconds. Don't be lulled into thinking this is merely a bog standard 206 GTi with a hotter engine. The GTi 180 takes things considerably further.

29th Dec 2005, 20:50

Ill think you will find the best hot hatch is the vxr astra turbo.

22nd Feb 2006, 12:57

I own a limited edition sri 190 which is fantastic. its now chipped with other mods running at 247/273lb/ft.

21st Jul 2006, 04:13

Pug 180, had now for four months, love it.

28th Aug 2006, 15:02

The official Peugeot figure for the GTI 180 (NOT the old GTI 138) is 7.1 to 60 not 8.1 and that's with a passenger and luggage.

This car with no miles on it was slow, but it's hit 10k now and is far quicker.

20th Sep 2006, 09:54

Just to enter the hot hatch row, no other hot hatch will beat a clio 182 in a straight line or round a track and that is not an opinion, but a fact. I've come across many boy racers in all sorts of astras, coopers s, civic type rs and left them all standing.

21st Sep 2006, 03:37

You've left them all standing mate cos they weren't racing you.

7th Oct 2006, 03:24

I have had a Clio 172 and a Clio 172 Cup (Cup would beat 182) and have just got an Astra SRi 190 turbo, and that will beat a 182 and 172 Sport or Cup all day long. As I have owned both, I should know, and I have done it, so like the guy with the big comment said, what does it matter anyway?

26th Oct 2006, 20:50

Have a 180. Previously a 205 GTI. Agree with opinion it comes down to the overall package. Everyones got their own loves and hates. Some look at the times, others the egotistical stuff, and others, well, wouldn't agree with you if you were the last person on earth.

19th Nov 2006, 18:07

All the cars mentioned in the previous comments are pretty evenly matched. But lets face it the Focus ST rises from the rest, clocking 0-60 in a wopping 6.5 (test drove one and its lethal). I Currently drive a Clio 172, which for an all round sporty day to day hot hatch back (considering you haven't a wife and kids) is a very fun, comfy car to drive. I nearly bought the 172 cup, however I personally believe it is only really a suitable motor as a second car. And I don't know who is trying to compare evo's to the rest of these hot hatches, because I think you guys need to bare in mind that the cars are in total different class'. none of these hot hatches cost nearly as much to service, and don't require such excessive care.

8th May 2007, 09:26

But the focus ST has a 2.5 litre engine and is turbocharged yet still only manages 6.5 seconds to 60 which is the same as all the other hot hatches. The old EP3 civic type R official figure is 6.4 seconds to 60 and that's from an N/A 2 litre engine. VXR is even quicker at just over 6 seconds (I have a pug 180 and love it)

9th May 2007, 03:20

Yes, but on cars like the ST the all important torque figre will probably be double what the GTI/172 ect has, making it a car with much more muscle for overtaking and will be fun to drive with lots of pull in higher gears or at lower revs. That's the beauty of a turbo.

19th Nov 2007, 06:58

I haven't long had my 180. So far it seems to be holding up well on the B roads where I live in Wales.

I don't think it is as much fun as the 205 GTi I used to own, but I can feel some of the magic that made the 205 such a great car.

As for the people that keep saying their car is faster; so what, I bought my car looking for that big smile you can only get from clipping an apex in a pug with the rear wheel off the ground.

18th Jan 2008, 11:02

People please, if speed is all you are looking for in a car, then there is no hotter hatch back than a Fensport Toyota Corolla.


For £20,000+ and a Toyota Corolla (of reasonable standard), Fensport will return you a 2.11L TURBO, 4 WHEEL DRIVE 650+BHP car. It’s running a highly modified engine. The 3SGTE from the Toyota Celica GT4, ST205 model. This will be capable of just over 200 MPH. I promise you that all of the above mentioned could have a 5 second head start and this would whoop you to the quarter mile point.

Granted again on a different level to most of the cars you have all talked about. However I went to Santa Pod last year and watched this thing eat everything on the track runs that day. If you have the money and a hot, no sorry a sizzling hatchback is what you are looking for, then look no further. Mine, albeit a 380BHP version, is on order, watch out motorways.

By the way I have to comment on the whole MG point of view, ha ha ha - You are driving a Rover ha ha ha.

19th Jan 2008, 03:52

My clio 172 is on throttle bodies beat vxr.

29th Jan 2008, 04:03

Why do people get into slanging matches and "my car is better than yours?" It's playground stuff!

The 180 is a brilliant car on the right roads, and up against a 182 Clio or Vauxhall VXR, it will be driver skill that determines the outcome more than the cars.

A Pug on 3 wheels, clipping the apex, mid lift-off slide, is one of life's great pleasures.

30th Jan 2008, 05:14

To "18th Jan 2008, 11:02"

Why are you talking about modified cars you tit. A modified car cannot be fairly compared to a standard car at all, full stop.

Your Corolla in standard form is not the "best hatchback". Every review has the CTR, 182, GTI, VXR, ST etc... as the best hatch on the market, the toyota hasn't even had a sniff.