1994 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 12 of 15

1994 Peugeot 306 XR 1.6 petrol from Norway

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

A lot of car for the money

Faults:

New exhaust fell off, had to buy another. The exhaust has only 2 supports under the car.

New gasket on top of motor (not head gasket).

Instrument lamps replaced.

New lambda sonde.

Side mirrors adjustment doesn't work.

Gear box makes whining sounds while driving and feels clunky when shifting to second gear.

General Comments:

It is good to drive, but hasn't the road "presence" of a 505.

A bit small for my needs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

1994 Peugeot 306 S16 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A dog in wolf's clothing

Faults:

Variable intake manifold diaphragm not working when purchased.

Engine management fault when purchased and never diagnosed by three dealers over two years.

Wiring fault when purchased resulting in ABS turning off randomly - fixed after about 6 months and 10+ dealer visits.

Brake light switch changed more than once in an attempt to fix the above fault.

All ABS sensors changed at least once in an attempt to fix the above fault.

Lumbar adjustment broken when purchased.

Oxygen sensor replaced.

Knock sensor replaced.

Front suspension wishbones replaced.

One front driveshaft replaced.

Clutch cable snapped.

Thermostat broke on the motorway and the engine overheated, destroying one coil and damaging a hose.

Rust emerged on the roof and under door window seals. Dealer not interested.

Heater blower switch failed.

Radio randomly wouldn't work.

General Comments:

The handling was very good, if unnerving when oversteer occurs.

Engine very lethargic in character - unwilling to rev and very sluggish response. Probably was quite fast, but never felt it. 29mpg when driven carefully.

Dealers totally clueless about the model. One even asked me if it was diesel.

Horrendously unreliable and even Peugeot UK unable to solve the mystery Engine Management problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

26th Sep 2001, 15:09

Typical Peugeot. Had the same sort of experience with a 405 MI-16 and a 306 XSi.

It's true, Peugeot are the British Leyland of France. Avoid them like the plague.

14th Mar 2003, 09:19

I disagree, I've owned a 309 GTI and currently own an S16 and nothing has gone wrong with either of them apart from minor things, but you get that with every car. I suspect you bought a bit of a lemon or you didn't look after it very well.

1994 Peugeot 306 XR 1.6 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

A great second hand buy!

Faults:

There is a slight knocking sound whenever a gear is changed.

General Comments:

Though this car does not have blistering acceleration, it makes up for it in terms of torque, especially when down-shifting from 4th to 3rd.

It handles very well. There is hardly any body roll even when cornering at around 80kmh.

There's plenty of feedback. The power steering is not overly light like most Japanese cars.

The seats are adequately comfortable, but lack thigh support especially for 6 footers.

If you are looking for a refreshing cabin, the 306 offers you a gloomy one. But there are lots of after-market accessories to brighten up the interior.

There are little rattles developing in the dash area. But nothing that irritates the hell out you.

Gear shift is precise and smooth though a little notch when the engine is still cold. Give it about 3 minutes to warm up and it shifts smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

4th Jul 2004, 09:05

I have had a xr for about three years now! and have found that the only major problems that I have had is in the front wheels area. I also find that the dashboard shakes a lot at 70+ Apart from that a great little car to drive.

I'm actually in the middle of changing the wishbones at the moment.

1994 Peugeot 306 D Turbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Quick, fun and very cheap to own. Not perfect, but how many cars are?

Faults:

Radiator failed.

Front wheel bearings are rumbly.

Front inner wishbone bushes wore out.

New battery and alternator.

Driver's seat starting to wear.

General Comments:

Not a perfect car, but very good in my opinion. People don't buy Peugeot's for outstanding build quality.

Great fun to drive (for a diesel).

Excellent handling and ride quality.

My car has a hard life (high miles on rough roads), but has proved very durable.

A good car for keeping it's age. Still looks great when polished at 7 years old.

Nice interior (if lacking in some knobs and whistles) with supportive, firm seats.

I recently drove a brand new HDi estate, but didn't find it that much better than my 1.9 D Turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

21st May 2002, 06:46

I have a 1.9 D Turbo. People slate it for being a DIESEL, but I am very surprised how quick they are. Currently looking to add a few improvements under the bonnet. Should be quite a nippy little car for a diesel.

2nd Jul 2002, 03:53

Update of main review above:

My D Turbo has now covered 95000 miles and is still as new. I have no intention of selling it, despite pressure from potential buyers to do so! Peugeot's are supposedly bad for becoming tatty, but a lot of that is down to owner neglect. I recently looked at a D Turbo on a forecourt that was 4 years newer and in far worse condition.

19th Jan 2004, 12:12

Another update:

Have now covered 118,000 miles. As much power as ever before and just as economical. Have driven loads of other 306 DTs and mine is more gutsy than any of them! I occasionally consider replacing it, but then clean and drive it, and there seems little point! Some noticable bits of wear to the interior showing (seat, steering wheel etc).

Such a cheap car to run. Have only needed to service it over the last 18 months. Long may it continue...!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 54 reviews