1999 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1999 Peugeot 306 GTi Race 2.0 from Greece

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 19 16v

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The most easy to drive, performance car I have ever driven.

I bought an Audi S3 (210hp) 4 months ago and in comparison to my new car the Peugeot engine sounded better!

The Peugeot was easier to drive, park and generally drive into the city.

It steers like train, the brakes are above average even though mine did not have ABS.

The Peugeot had great performance, and it is the best car money can buy ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

1999 Peugeot 306 D Turbo from Portugal

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 440 turbo

Summary:

Don't buy this car!

Faults:

This car is horrible!! Stupid annoying problems, low comfort for the price we pay, and the worst dealer service you'll find!

General Comments:

Just forget this car and spend your money with another manufacturer. Why did I sell my Volvo???! Oh no...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

21st Oct 2005, 15:52

It´s not fair to consider the 306 unconfortable!

24th Jan 2008, 08:58

So what exactly are the problems you have had with the Pug?

1999 Peugeot 306 GTI-6 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7100 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306 GTI-6

Summary:

Excellent performance for pocket money!

Faults:

Nothing as yet but the previous 306 GTI-6's second home was at the dealership. Faulty airbag switch, warped rear discs, faulty alarm sensors - pretty much the electrics!

General Comments:

The best car I have owned and driven. Other cars on the market may have that little bit of power but you really cannot get the same handling/performance on a car for this price. It really is an awesome experience - if you don't mind a few squeaks from the poor build quality.

I would recommend this car to anyone who needs a car for everyday use and who also loves to blast around country roads!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2000

18th Jun 2001, 09:35

2001 306XT 2.0 manual - dubbed Rallye. It's a great car to drive if you don't mind numerous squeaks, external imperfections & pinging under light acceleration. Dealer & Peugeot Australia deny the pinging problem exists even though I have an independent report that verifies this from a qualified mechanic who used to work for Peugeot.

Rating:

Drive & handling...9

General quality & detail...4.

3rd Mar 2003, 01:21

My GTi6 pings when poor quality fuel is used. In Australia it pretty much amounts to anything non PULP, or even PULP from non-brand dealers.

BP and Shell seem to be the only ones that perform the best in the 2L Peugeot.

And I have to add that it's a hot... hot hot hatch. I bought it 10 months ago and still look forward to driving it every day.

1999 Peugeot 306 HDi 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Good drivers car offering great performance and first class economy

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Looks great and handles well. Great acceleration in higher gears - better than previous TD and exceptionally economical. Seats could be more comfortable. Good equipment levels: CD, Air-con etc. but the dash layout is now looking outdated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2000

1999 Peugeot 306 XSi 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

The engine seems to get through a lot of oil!

General Comments:

Performance is rather disappointing for a car with 133BHP. It could do with more torque from 2-4,000 RPM. However, motorway driving is good with strong pull in 5th gear.

Handling is brilliant - lots of feedback through the steering wheel and it takes corners very well! Looks great in the latest bodykit (looks identical to GTI-6).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2000

27th Mar 2001, 04:51

I would Agree. I am a bit disapointed with the performance, you really have to work the engine to get any fun from it. The handling is superb however, which makes up for sluggish performance if you live in the country with lots of twisty roads. Lower it - and wreck it.

2nd May 2001, 01:31

Great little car.

Do not ever get the engine wet, or you will suffer the cost of a ECU, also a new catalytic converter & exhaust system. Forgot to mention the oxygen sensor.

Really annoyed, cost me a total of £900.

24th Oct 2001, 07:16

Also keep a close eye on the air con. My condenser and refrigerant pipes went - costing me well over £500.

Electric window mechanism failed due a crappy little piece of plastic being over stressed costing a further ton plus. The dealer took 4 attempts to get the correct one in.

Surely year, model, drivers side, 3 door model says it all?

Accelerator linkage seized.

Alarm prone to sounding for no apparent reason.

All this before the car was 2 years old and now the gearbox is beginning to whine like my missus when I get home from the pub a little worse for wear!!!

Also the automatic windscreen wipers are erratic to say the least. Think carefully before buying one of these - great fun but an expensive toy. My next car will be German built.

18th Dec 2001, 04:22

My 1999 306XSi 2.0 also suffered oil consumption problems. Under warranty it was checked, but the Peugeot importers told the dealer that using 1 litre of oil per 1000km was considered "normal". I didn't - and consequently sold the car. Only done 24000km.

Occasionally upon startup, blew heaps of blue oil smoke, occurred from almost new. Also heaps of creaks and groans when the body flexed turning out of driveways. Otherwise - a great fun car, terrific handler.

1999 Peugeot 306 D Turbo 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

New HDi engine gives smoother ride than previous model. Standard equipment on new models is very good, inclusive of CD autochanger, same alloys and body kit as GTi version, electric windows and air conditioning. Worth the extra for the twin headlamp conversion.

In summise, looks the business and handles well though lacking the high thrills of the GTi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 1999

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 41 reviews