1999 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1999 Peugeot 306 Meridian 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance24500 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Terrific until it goes wrong, then a complete nightmare

Faults:

Trouble starting, revs fluctuating whilst idling at traffic lights etc. stalling at junctions and traffic lights.

General Comments:

After 2 years of comparatively trouble free motoring, I put the car in for what the garage believed was an idle control valve problem. A garage bill of almost a thousand pounds later and the problem was found to be the engine management computer. So many of these have gone wrong (allegedly) that Peugeot were out of stock and my car stayed in the garage for around 6 weeks (including investigation time etc.).

I was told that there were 5 upgrades available for my ECU, but that Peugeot would not have bothered recalling the car for that fault - it was only because I had another problem with the car that the garage discovered that the ECU was faulty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

16th Aug 2001, 15:55

I think your garage might be pulling a fast one.

All you probably needed to do was change the oxygen sensor at the front of the engine - 80 quid and takes 1 minute to change. This is the common problem that Peugeots have.

18th Jan 2004, 03:30

I am having the same problem since six months. I changed the oxygen sensor, but the problem still exists. The other problem is that Peugeot agent in my country does not have spare parts. I have to wait until he asks Peugeot in France to send an engine computer, and that may take another six months.

22nd Mar 2005, 08:27

I have this same problem on mine, but having read other people's comments I believe that the likely culprit is the stepper motor which is what my local dealer suggested to me. The truth is it could be any of those 3 different problems, but most likely the oxygen sensor or the stepper motor. I think a trip to the garage is in order either way for me. Otherwise I have had no problems with my 1.4 touch wood.

1999 Peugeot 306 Meridian SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17900 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A decent quality, but slightly expensive super mini

Faults:

Excessive wear on the front tyres.

General Comments:

Pretty good run about. Nippy at slow speeds but 50-70 takes an age.

Internal features are great, with quality half leather/cloth seats as standard in the Meridian special edition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

1999 Peugeot 306 Meridian 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Faults:

I took my "T" reg 306 Meridian in for its 20,000 service and to repair a faulty/fan motor which worked on and off for months before completely packing up prior to its service two weeks ago. The car had only clocked up 16,000 miles, but as we plan a round trip in Ireland in March 2001 I thought I'd get the fan fault fixed and have it serviced at Vilton Cars Barnet, Herts.

During the service I got a call informing me that they needed to investigate further as the cause of fault had not been identified. Three hours later and with the clock running at £50/hour labour costs I was told that a burnt-through wire had been found and replaced. It was hurriedly mentioned that I could also pay for further diagnostic tests to be made or collect it as repaired. The car had been tested on the open road twice and so I felt that collecting it in working order with the fan wire replaced was OK.

However, the next day the same faulty fan problem re-occurred. First it worked only intermittently and now it's mainly broken - but then when you think it is dead it bursts back into life!

The dealers at Peugeot Vilton Cars then said that if we took it back they would charge us all over again and that it could take 5 hours + parts! Bearing in mind I'd just spent £360 the day before on service and repairs I blew my fuse!!

I contacted head office and they talked to the dealer and the dealer called me. Because the car is newish and has low mileage and regular service intervals I might qualify for a discretionary "Goodwill" cashback from HQ. But then I might not - in which case I may have to pay a total of over £700, or 10% of its secondhand value!! No wonder automakers are reaping such vast profits out of the aftermarket. I'm now convinced that dealers actually wreck new cars deliberately to boost their margins so they qualify for their year end bonuses. I should have taken it to the bloke up the arches to start with!

Peter J.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

9th Mar 2001, 05:29

Further to taking my complaint to Head office, Peugeot eventually agreed to foot the bill for the repair and labor to fix a faulty conection to the fan motor.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 41 reviews