1999 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1999 Peugeot 306 L 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Economic wonder

General Comments:

Fantastic car. Only had it for 7 weeks, but covered 4000 miles already. Car travels Up-wards of 500 miles a week all motorway driving.

Performance was surprising for not being a turbo diesel and regularly sees up-wards of 55 miles per gallon.

Has tow bar fitted an it has already been used to tow my race car twice (once to Ireland) and it pulls really well and puts my friends 1.8 petrol Ford Mondeo to shame when it is towing.

Torque available form the engine is outstanding pulls well from 60 to 90 miles per hour. Chassis is great and as my girlfriend lives at the end of a nice twisty country road I regularly get to put this fantastic tight responsive chassis through its paces.

Cabin is nice and spacious and can swallow five adults with ease. Boot is more than ample and easily handles two to three large cases.

Only fault is I wish it had a sun roof. And don't you just love that radio control on the steering column.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

1999 Peugeot 306 GTi-6 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Bags of performance, expensive repair

Faults:

Like many other owners, cam-belt went at 52000 miles! (still getting repaired)

Front light bulbs replaced, 15 pounds.

General Comments:

After owing a 106 GTi for 3 years and being so chuffed with it, I had to get myself the big brother.

Until now I haven't been at all disappointed with the car. The steering is fantastic, the 6 speed novelty nice and it goes pretty quick too!

The only downsides are the turning circle (makes you look incapable!), and to ignore Peugeot by replacing the cam belt way before the recommended 72000 miles.

I have come across 2 other owners who's cam belts have snapped within 55000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

17th Jun 2003, 05:40

Hi, I have owned a gti-6 for the last 5 years or so, I have had no problems with it and have loved every minute driving it, until now! Timing belt gone at 48,000 miles, it has been regularly serviced and it says in the manual 72,000 miles, do we have to accept this or is there something that can be done!

Thanks.

Adam.

26th Jul 2004, 04:00

My cam Belt went on Friday - 43,000 miles only.

I think there may be an issue.

4th Jan 2007, 09:39

I have had my GTI6 from new and have only just had a service at 50,000 miles and was told the car need a new cambelt a 70,000 but only 2,000 mile later the cam belt has gone causing over £1,000 pounds worth of damage!!! I feel peugeot should reassess their guidelines on the cam belt change as I have since discovered that many other people have had the same problem. This is an expense problem to have which could be avoided if the correct information is given to owners!!!

1999 Peugeot 306 Meridian 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40109 miles
Most recent distance40886 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

The car was a bargain at £5000 but is too much hassle to keep fighting it!

Faults:

The battery goes flat everyday and it is not a problem with the alternator and the mechanic cannot find the problem as yet.

I had to go to the dealership to get the code for the radio which cost me £17.63 after the battery went flat.

Panels constantly rattle.

General Comments:

Very tidy car when I purchased it, but generally bland and boring. The constant rattling of the door panels "drives" me insane.

Without making all negative points I can say that it does handle well and the seats are very comfortable, but for the trouble it has given me so far I'd swap it tomorrow. I wanted a newer car that would be more reliable and no hassle - WRONG choice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

1999 Peugeot 306 Rallye 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Fantastic performance for a relatively low cost

Faults:

No faults found so far.

General Comments:

This car is the best handling hot hatch ever.

The close ratio gearbox makes driving a joy with a fantastic 6th gear for relaxed motorway driving.

This 306 is as good being driven for the weekly shopping or for use on track days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

9th Dec 2003, 08:40

I agree with your comments on the 306 rallye, i have a 99 T rallye, and it is the most fun of any car I have driven, comfortable, lively, great handling & of course superb power & acceleration. I enjoy driving again.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 41 reviews