2002 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 15 of 25

2002 Peugeot 307 Rapier 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Good value, good spec

Faults:

Faulty indicator switch. I'm now on my third indicator switch! Dealer told me it is a common fault on 307's. The switch is difficult to turn on & clicks most of the time, sometimes causing full beam to come on.

Loose/Rattling exhaust. I've had the car back to the dealer approx 10 times now since new & they still can't find what the problem is. I've had the heat shield repositioned, a new flange kit put on & the front part of the exhaust taken off, re greased & put back on again. Seems to be OK for a couple of days then starts to rattle again. Is beginning to get very annoying.

General Comments:

Even though there are some problems, the car drives really well especially on long journeys & is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2003

2002 Peugeot 307 GLX tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission tdi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carCitroen Picasso

Summary:

Overall the car is very reliable and economical

Faults:

Slight squealing from the brakes on occasions.

Front carpet has come away a little.

General Comments:

Engine is noisy at tick-over, compared with other diesels I have owned, and a there is also a noticeable rocking motion at rest, with the engine running, but it can be lived with.

- I have averaged about 51 mpg over the time I have had it.

Inside it is very roomy, and controls are good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

12th Jan 2006, 16:10

My brakes also squeal at times. Indicators work when they feel like it. Washer jets have stopped working twice. Glove box fell to pieces. Even all these faults cannot make me dislike this car. It is so comfortable, quiet, economical and fun to drive. This is my first diesel and I am nicely surprised at the performance. Not looking forward to the inevitable electrical drama though.

2002 Peugeot 307 Rapier 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance8950 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Despite the problems, it is still worth serious consideration

Faults:

I chose this car because of its spacious interior and large boot, compared to the average hatchback.

I purchased the car in October 2002 and was very impressed for approximately 8 weeks when I noticed one or two annoying problems.

The indicator column sticks for no apparent reason and causes the front headlights to go onto full beam even when the headlights are turned off.

This was followed with the indicator's automatic cancel no longer working once you have turned a corner. This can be quite irritating, as you have to remember to manually switch the indicators off. I am still waiting for the replacement part!

The latest problem is an unexplained squeak coming from the clutch, or the front suspension, or the front brakes or the engine. The exact location has not yet been traced.

General Comments:

The car handles very well in all weather conditions.

The design of the car is very good, although I do know of other Peugeot 307 owners who have had problems with the car.

As with any car, if you get a good one you will love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

17th Nov 2003, 01:07

I own a 307 SW BVA 1.6 PACK, and have many problems with it. I bought the car in April 2003 and since April I've been to the car service at least 40 times because of several problems. The problems are "Automatic transmission faults", "battery charge faults".

When the first fault (automatic transmission) occurred it was the 500th km. I talked to Peugeot Turkey authorities many times, but there is not a solution yet.

I'm totally upset about this, and waiting for a solution before the warranty's deadline.

2002 Peugeot 307 Rapier 2.0HDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0HDI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Nice cheap family car that can still be fun

Faults:

Indicator switch failed at 100 miles. Indicators still worked, but they would come on when cornering rather than going off.

Locking wheel nut key lost by dealer when new. Needed the wheels drilling off. Resolved quickly by dealer who offered me a hire car while mine was with them.

Strange problem where the electronics seem to 'reboot'. While driving the gages and instrument lights go off - the engine still works - only to come back about 1 second later. Dealer cannot reproduce. Has occurred about 5 times in 12000 miles.

General Comments:

I do like driving this car. It handles well and the engine was plenty of torque.

Build quality over all is average. Dash is well lay-ed out, but door panels do rattle in hot weather.

Seat material is not practical with animals. The hair gets stuck and is a pain to remove.

External finish is good and the car looks the business when clean. No stone chips etc. after 12000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 90 reviews