2002 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 17 of 25

2002 Peugeot 307 D-Turbo 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12110 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Generally pleased with 307 but spoiled by irritating faults

Faults:

Dashboard lights momentarily went out at night.

Faulty coolant temperature sensor.

Rear window shattered in drive for no apparent reason. Comment from authorized glass replacement firm that this was not first example that they had been advised of.

General Comments:

Disappointing compared to previous 306.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2003

2002 Peugeot 307 XT 1.6 DOHC turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance13100 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A very good car apart from the coolant leak

Faults:

The car could only go with second gear after going into a flood, but it was repaired.

The right rear door was somehow stuck and it cannot be opened. Even the mechanics from my dealer cannot open it. Until I left the car in the garage overnight. They finally got a new lock for it.

The engine coolant started to leak from the engine at 13000 miles. The adhesive material somehow melted. The coolant is flowing out like mad now. The only hope now is to get a new car or a new engine.

General Comments:

This car has anything you want for a fraction of the price of expensive BMW and Mercedes Benz.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2003

2002 Peugeot 307 HDI 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11900 miles
Most recent distance13600 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A quality vehicle which is let down by the extremely high transmission transfer noise

Faults:

When purchased vehicle had a failed seal on rear passenger side light housing.

Vehicle suffers from excessive transmission noise.

Indicator stalk is very tight.

General Comments:

Whilst the car is extremely economic it is noisy in transmission in forward as well as reverse gears.

My current experience of Peugeot after sales service is very disappointing, and had I been aware of this level of letdown I am not at all sure I would have bought the car, which is a real pity as the vehicle design and quality is very high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

2002 Peugeot 307 GLX Hdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Hdi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Fire trap waiting to happen

Faults:

The car was on the road for three days when the indicators started to come on at random. This problem was short lived however as the steering column caught fire. The car was taken to the dealership (Belmont Peugeot, Bankhead, Edinburg) where it remained for a whole two months before repair. There was a great demand for spares apparently.

I had the car back on the road a week when, in the fast lane of the A1, all power was lost. A shower of sparks covered my feet and I had to make emergency manouveres to the hard shoulder. The ignition power loom had been caught in the universal joint in the steering column. The resulting fire forced the abandonment of the vehicle.

General Comments:

The 307 is a comfortable car that was a pleasure to drive, but I have serious concerns about it's fire safety. We have a large fleet of mixed manufacture vehicles at my work. Two of which (not including mine) are 307s which have the front end burned out. A safety recall should surely be initiated.

I would even have concerns about parking next to one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2003

28th Apr 2003, 12:07

You are not alone friend, i have a 307 as well. It has never taken fire,but is plagued with non stop electrical problems.

8th May 2003, 11:38

What about steering wheel tremor at about 70-75 mph?

New drive shafts, steering rack dampener adjusted - still the same!

28th May 2003, 05:42

Has anybody had any uneven tyre wear on the rear wheels? On ours, an HDI 90, the outer third of the tyre worn away. The dealer is making enquiries...! Only 14000 miles covered!

2002 Peugeot 307 XSE 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot Hyundai

Summary:

Good car few niggles

Faults:

Loss of Power on hot day after driving in excess of 100Km with antipollution fault displaying on the screen.

Sent to dealer whom rebooted the system only to have it return the following day when the car was picked up. (No explanation given for loss of power)

Car is still in service to fix the fault, but again no real attempt has been made to rectify initial loss of power.

General Comments:

Bought the car as previous car was becoming unreliable only to loose confidence in taking the car on long trips and worrying about the really poor performance of Peugeot Assist.

Was completely happy with my purchase initially. Engine was fine, felt powerful and handled well in all conditions. Interior is excellent, seats are very comfortable. Gearbox is quite good, but revs quite high in lower gears.

Currently under a cloud of suspicion for reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

14th May 2004, 02:17

I am not a peugeot 307 owner, but I purchased a 206 XT 16v yesterday. After getting home from the dealer the engine suddenly stopped, but started again by my attempt. But the real problem occurred when I parked it to my garage. My friend came and I wanted to show him the engine's sound. I attempted to start the engine, but no way. For 3 hours of trying I couldn't start it. Obviously after 3 hours it started finally. But today in the morning it started with an "antipollution fault" warning on the display and also a slight tremble.

I am pleased and satisfied with the performance. But if these kind of problems will continue I will be a very sad man.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 90 reviews