2002 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 21 of 25

2002 Peugeot 307 Rapier 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance1156 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Comfortable family car

Faults:

At idle the engine was a little rough. Fixed with a software upgrade.

Radio tuning itself to other stations. Fixed by dealer by creating a better earth.

Service indicator decreasing in 100's of miles. Still does, but the dealer said they'd fixed it.

Lights failed to come on for about 30seconds after switching.

Rattle from the passenger seat belt when no tension is on the mechanism.

Rattle from the exhaust at 2600rpm.

General Comments:

Although there have been a few faults, all of which are minor really, I think the 307 is a great car.

The seats are comfortable, and the driving position suitable from the smallest to the tallest person.

For a 1.6, there is plenty power when needed, although I think a 1.8 would have been a better choice from Peugeot.

The breaking is astounding - often you just rest your foot on the break pedal rather than having to press it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

11th Dec 2002, 10:16

As far as the service indicator is concerned, I believe it is normal to decrease be the hundreds. Mine used to decrease too quickly, for instance, with 10000 Kms it would indicate 12000 Kms left for servicing. After a software upgrade earlier this year, it is behaving more accurately.

The rattle at 2600 rpm is a common issue to all 307 1.6, I believe. I just didn't know it came from the exhaust.

Best regards and nice driving.

30th Jan 2003, 04:23

Well, the saga continues.

To add to the list of faults:

1. Total power failure at speed - com2000 unit to blame.

2. Rear passenger door motor failed.

3. Drivers window motor failed.

4. Oil indicator failed showing empty when it's full.

Oh well, under the sale of goods act I think I'll be back to Peugoet for a replacement if these faults arn't fixed!

22nd May 2003, 09:30

Hello.

I also have problems with massive vibrations between 2400 and 2500 rpms. Was the workshop able to fix your rattling exhaust problem?

Regards / Mattias.

2nd Jun 2005, 09:45

Hi, my 307 makes a loud screeching sound when I put, or take my foot off the accelerator.

2002 Peugeot 307 SE Station Wagon 2.0 Hdi 110 bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Hdi 110 bhp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3100 miles
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

Best medium size estate available

Faults:

In the 3000 miles in 0ne month that I have owned the car, the only faults have been caused by poor standards of workmanship at the dealer.

Such as scratched trim when installing Hi fi upgrade and a scratched bonnet when installing Headlight protectors.

General Comments:

Excellent performance and remarkable economy.

Glass roof makes cabin very light and airy.

I have the 7 seat option and it severely limits boot space, leg room for seats 6 and 7 make them only really suitable for small children. Best to think of the 307 SW more as a medium family estate than small MPV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

2002 Peugeot 307 Rapier 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance3250 miles
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

Quiet, comfortable, goes well, fantastic brakes, very safe car, I like it a lot

Faults:

There has been nothing wrong with this car so far.

General Comments:

My previous car was a 307 HDI 90 Style which I had for a year. It's big problem was the poor indicators, even the COMM 2000 modification did not cure it fully. In comparison the Rapier HDI 110 is an improvement in all respects. The extra bit of performance makes the car much more enjoyable to drive although there's a small penalty on fuel consumption, but it's worth it. The indicator problem seems to have been well and truly sorted and does everything it should do. Unfortunately, I have not been able to test the air-conditioning, maybe next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

2002 Peugeot 307 XS 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Best value luxury car on the market

Faults:

A slight rattle in the dash when on sealed but slightly rough country road.

General Comments:

I compared this car with all its available competitors and there is really no comparison. For example, the Honda Civic Hatch sells for the same price. If you are a person that appreciates comfort, style, classy looks and a superb finish - particularly in the paintwork, go for the Peugeot. The only area that Honda surpasses the 307 is in the 0-100 kmh field. So what? All you'll do is get to the next set of traffic lights 2 seconds earlier. I have read a few motoring magazine reviews on the cars lack of performance. I have come to the conclusion that these journalists are comparing this vehicle with some V6 or V8 engine. I have put the car through its power test and it came up trumps considering it is only a 1.6 engine. Driving up a very steep hill in 4th gear and having enough power to overtake a slower vehicle meets my requirements. This car is going to hurt sales of all its competitors. The interior is extremely comfortable and the ride is very smooth with little or no road noise. The CD system is terrific.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 90 reviews