2003 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 9 of 18

2003 Peugeot 307 LX 2.0 HDI 90 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI 90 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12500 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

Absolute Rubbish!

Faults:

Rear window replaced, heater strip faulty.

Problem with oil level indicator sensor, replaced with modified unit, control unit also replaced; and soldered connections made.

N/S/R door handle replaced (Twice)!.

Door trim replaced, (Kept falling off)

Spare key replaced/reprogrammed.

Squeak from CD changer (Unresolved)

Gearbox whines on over-run.. worse than a land-rover (Unresolved)

Vibration through drivers floor-pan when engine cold (Unresolved)

Air conditioning mists up screen if turned off (Unresolved)

Engine smokes heavily under acceleration (Unresolved)

General Comments:

In the process of trying to reject this vehicle under the sale of goods act!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

4th Nov 2004, 14:27

Added by author of review!.

Had the car on a lift today...

1) The dealer has "Lost" the undertray.

2) Back axle manufactured incorrectly, rear tyres illegal after 21,000 miles. We have checked the rear track, tows in by 12 degrees.

After massive "Public" argument with dealership director they have finally agreed to exchange the car for another, however I would have been far happier if they gave me a refund!.

2003 Peugeot 307 LX 2.0 90 bhp diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 90 bhp diesel Manual
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

It's OK, but the two niggles nearly led me to change it

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, but seriously let down by two major niggles. The blind spot created by the sweep of the windscreen supports is bad enough, but the 5 inch band which the wipers don’t reach on the right hand side of the windscreen is ridiculous and positively dangerous. My local dealer adjusted them and said ‘everyone complains about that.’ Why don’t Peugeot provide windscreen wipers designed for right hand drive?

The clunk from the rear suspension on slightly bumpy roads when you have people or luggage in the back indicates the suspension simply isn’t good enough. Come on Peugeot, beef the suspension up to a decent standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2004

31st Aug 2004, 11:31

You got the windscreen wiper problem fixed?! I didn't know it could be done. I'd love this to be fixed on my 307 - can you let me know more details please? Thanks, Ben.

14th Oct 2004, 12:11

Ben... Did you get any information re adjusting the windscreen wipers?? or have you done it yourself?

Could you let me know?... cheers Phil.

8th Nov 2004, 12:09

No news on the windscreen wiper front unfortunately - I can live with the problem, but I'd much rather get it fixed!

17th Nov 2004, 11:52

Re adjusting wipers on 307. I had mine serviced today the dealer told me this (problem) was a feature of the car and couldn't be adjusted. Would still appreciate it if anyone could tell me how it can be lessened as a problem either with or without Peugeot consent.

2003 Peugeot 307 SE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance7800 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

Faulty horn which was cured after being back to the dealer for the second time by re-positioning the earthing point.

Vehicle seems to have a dead spot on acceleration and deceleration. I have had the vehicle back to the dealer twice for this fault, but they say they can find nothing wrong.

Engine sounds noisy when first started up.

Drivers window sticks on occasion.

The radio de-tuned itself and the dealer did say this happens on other models of Peugeot.

I do find the seats are a little too hard.

General Comments:

So far the car has presented me with no serious problems. For the engine size, price, and model of car, it performs as well as I would expect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

2003 Peugeot 307 GLX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Good package, but potentially lethal andseriously lacking in the build quality of previous Peugeot's

Faults:

New car was very good, quiet, comfortable, relaxed motorway cruiser with decent handling and space, plus excellent levels of equipment. All went well for first 9 months, then throttle pedal jammed under leading edge of Peugeot-fitted floor mat. Hairy experience having 138 BHP on full throttle in an automatic, on a dual carriageway approaching a lot of brake lights!

Managed to stop without incident, but dealer informed me "Oh that's quite a common fault."

From there on the car suffered from just about every engine management fault in it's, extensive, repertoire. I can log 14 visits to local dealer for new components and/or re-programming, including once in France.

Final straw 3 weeks ago when car went to full throttle on it's own. Following much hard braking and not a little sweating it came off full throttle, displayed "Catalytic Converter Fault" and settled to a fast tick-over. Unfortunately, the throttle pedal was now seemingly disconnected so we trickled home at 1200 rpm in Tiptronic 2. Following another reprogramming and another new part, my Company have decided that this is a potentially dangerous car and are disposing of it back to the lease company. Thankfully I work for a caring Company and it's not my own money tied up in this time bomb.

General Comments:

Great shame really. Two previous 406's have been brilliant motor cars. However, I have met quite a few nice, but equally frustrated, 307 owners whilst sitting in my local dealer's reception area. The Receptionists care, but seem nearly defeated by the almost constant moaning from upset customers.

Next car? Skoda or Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

9th Oct 2004, 09:35

The 307 you owned plus one other on this site sound like disasters. My particular 307 XS,2 years old seems probably to be be very different, I wonder if the British versions could be so differant to the Australian version's I have no doubt that they could be built at the same facility, as both are right hand drive. I have had minor irritations, but nothing to really complain about. Good luck.

7th Jan 2005, 02:53

Had exactly the same problem with the drivers mat. I now have it fitted in backwards which helps although I believe they can be screwed to the floor too.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 56 reviews