Peugeot 806 Reviews

1999 Peugeot 806 2.0 HDI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Lemon on wheels

Faults:

Where do I start? Is there enough room on the page?

Within a week of purchasing the car, the alternator belt snapped.

After 2 months, the electrics went haywire. The fuel gauge is temperamental. If you fill up to the top, it sits on full until you go up a hill, then drops to a quarter, where it sits for 400 miles.

Fan only comes on when the temperature gauge reaches 130 centigrade (i.e. on red), which is quite disconcerting when sitting in traffic.

Sliding doors no longer lock or open from outside. Door lock pins are pathetic pieces of plastic that just fall off.

Turbo hose snapped, and then turbo went, which was £900 to fix.

Trip missing in several places. Rear seats sometimes do not lock in place.

General Comments:

Overall it is a van. Take the rear seats out, and it gives a massive loading space, which is great for us, as we attend lots of shows.

However, it has proved to be as useful as a chocolate teapot.

I have totally lost faith in it. It is basically a lemon with wheels.

I have done 3 shows up country. Each time it has broken down on route.

When it is working, it drives well and is cheap to run. However my wife refuses to drive it, due to the handbrake being located on the right.

Funnily enough, I had a Honda before, which NEVER went wrong in the 4 years of ownership. Unfortunately the Honda was just too small for our needs.

As I write this, the vehicle is currently in the garage again. Driving back last night, there was a pop followed by black smoke and hardly any power.

As soon as it is fixed, I am buying something else.

Total rubbish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2012

8th Aug 2012, 06:15

You can't call an 11 year old car with 107K on it a lemon. Buy a new one, and if you get the same problems, then you can call it a lemon.

12th Aug 2012, 12:31

OK, fair point, but my old Honda never went wrong. I think 6 breakdowns in 2 years is a little expensive. This car is constantly in the garage.

So in my book, it is still a lemon. A big blue lemon on wheels.

2001 Peugeot 806 16v 2.0 from Slovenia

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance226000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 806

Summary:

Automatic can be tricky

Faults:

Automatic transmission works nice until the oil gets very hot - city driving. Then it starts to go into 3rd and stays there. It doesn't shift properly from N to 1, or when stopping it jerks into N... The service says that some bearings have to be changed. 1000-1500€

When buying an automatic, keep in mind that with a higher mileage you'll have to make a full service on your auto trans as on manual. But a manual costs less; almost half less.

General Comments:

When I fix the auto transmission, I hope it will work properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2009

11th Jan 2009, 09:52

"Automatic transmission works nice until the oil gets very hot - city driving."

- Get a transmission oil cooler. It's a radiator for the transmission.

21st Jun 2009, 06:54

I've repaired the fault. It was "only" 320€.

8th Oct 2013, 07:13

What is the solution to the hotness of the gear oil, where when it's hot, the car will not move faster, and if you are in a hold up, you will find it difficult to move the car?

1999 Peugeot 806 HDI 2.0 from Slovenia

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 18

Summary:

Cheap, somewhat reliable, and spacious

Faults:

HDI engine failed at 216000km. One of diesel injectors worked wrongly with too much pouring diesel. No advance warning. The car just stalled and died. "New" 53.000km engine and it works now nice for 25.000km.

Some rattles on the sliding doors and removable seats, rear doors also, they are mostly "treatable".

Webasto preheater died soon. Too expensive to service - the car warms up on a very long city drive.

One of ventilators in the cabin died.

There was a temperature light blinking when the A/C was on - problem was that only one of two engine ventilators worked - changed and it works.

General Comments:

Very economic car for its size and weight. Town 8l/100km, highway (120-130km/h with A/C) 6,7-7l/100km.

I'm using this car as a taxi. Sometimes it can be a problem with opening and closing of the doors cause customers don't know how to operate them. Also getting in the back two seats can be a bit difficult, specially for miniskirts :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2009

11th Feb 2010, 17:45

Previous car was a Renault 18? Thought they had all gone to the scrapyard in the sky years ago.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews