1991 Plymouth Acclaim Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1991 Plymouth Acclaim from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

My car is still kicking at 12 years old!

Faults:

Headliner fell apart.

I had my oil pump replaced.

Also rebuilt trans was installed within a month oh having the car.

Factory speakers are removed to be replace with new speakers.

General Comments:

0-65 mph in 11 seconds.

Good on gas, if you use 93 octane.

It loves Mobile 1 Oil, 5w-30 is a must.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

1991 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance103000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

A good buy

Faults:

Nothing went wrong yet.

General Comments:

This is a very quick car. Can stand up to most V6's on the highway with good passing power.

Very nice seats which are very comfortable as well.

Good performance and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2004

1991 Plymouth Acclaim LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles

Summary:

Looking for a car that is cheap, reliable, comfortable, and good looking?

Faults:

Transmission went out right before I bought it.

Drivers window crank fell off a 115,000 miles.

Fuel pump needed replacement once.

General Comments:

This car has been a reliable and trustworthy friend of mine for the last few years. It is my first car and for what it is it works very well. It goes from point A to point B to point C very well and I don't ever have to worry about the car not firing when I turn the key.

The power train is a little sluggish in the low end, But, in the high end whew... get out of it's way. I once coaxed this car to bury the needle, which is quite an achievement with a 120 mph speedometer. For being a 2.0L engine in a sedan and bought for $800.00 that's not bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2004

1991 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Tough little car

Faults:

The Timing Chain broke about a year after I got this vehicle.

I had to have the front end aligned.

The drain line for the air conditioner was clogged at one time.

The grommet supporting the alternator went bad causing the fan belts to slip off.

The muffler fell off due to age.

A vacuum line broke recently.

I also replaced the thermostat recently.

I replaced one of the battery clamps as well.

General Comments:

This car was previously taken very good care of by its previous owner. He got into an accident that damaged the body. It was taken to an impound lot. He sold it to me for the price of getting it out of the lot. He wasnt interested in getting it repaired.

I bought the car and drove it pretty much as is for about a year.

Later we were able to purchase some body parts and replace most of the damaged ones.

The hood and grille were replaced along with the headlights and front sidelights.

Most if not all of the mechanical repairs have been related to wear.

I have been impressed with the reliability of this vehicle.

It is good on gas.

I am not someone who takes good care of a vehicle.

This has been a tough little car.

It has held up under minimal maintenance.

The only disappointment is that some things on this vehicle are not the cheapest. The tires are one such item. They tend to be pricier than other comparable size tires.

Another problem is that the speedometer has worked intermittently.

It has been a reasonable comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

28th Dec 2004, 12:02

The timing belt should be replaced every 100 000 km or 60 000 miles. Did you do this mantence?

25th Apr 2005, 19:03

If the speedometer does not work try to push the trip odometer button.

1991 Plymouth Acclaim 3.0 Litre V^ from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Litre V^ Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired166000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

An underestimated sports sedan

Faults:

The headliner fell

Used oil

Tran went bad a couple of times.

General Comments:

Very good, reliable car. Had excellent power... could pass anyone. Took corners like nothing. Got good gas milage. Good Stereo. Winter driving was sometimes a little hard, for it didn't like to stop or start. Very good for someone who needs a family sedan with the handling and performance of sports coupe. Remember, this was all at 190k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

1991 Plymouth Acclaim Standard 2.5L, 4 Clyinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L, 4 Clyinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

A Mopar death trap

Faults:

Power steering had to be replaced.

Horrid brakes that needed replacing twice.

Had to replace the radiator in the same year.

Had to replace over 5 alternator and serpentine belts in the same year.

Had to replace the timing belt a week before the first alternator belt broke.

The heat no longer worked on the car at 140000 miles.

Pain peeled off easily.

Head gasket blew which ended the life of the Plymouth acclaim.

General Comments:

I bought the car when I was a junior/senior in high school for 800 dollars. It had around 129000 miles on it then.

Overall, this car was a death trap. Just like clockwork, every other week the car needed to be towed home. After the brakes were replaced, they only lasted another 3000 miles. I put in A lot more money that what the car was worth.

Avoid this car if you can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

13th Jan 2004, 09:48

You bought a car with 129K miles and are upset that it needed repairs? What did you expect for $800?

Had you purchased it new and needed to make all those repairs with low mileage then you might have some basis for complaint, but as it is, calling a car you paid $800 for a "death trap" is unjustified.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews