1991 Plymouth Acclaim Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Plymouth Acclaim 2.5cl from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5cl Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance258000 miles

Summary:

Cheap on price, but not reliability.

Faults:

The timing belt broke about 2000 miles ago.

The fuel pump was replaced once.

I replaced the radiator about 4000 miles ago.

The serpentine belt broke about 500 miles ago.

The fabric fell from the celling.

General Comments:

For a car who has 258000 miles on it, this car has served me well. It has got me anywhere I needed to go with no fuss.

I live in West Virginia and for a car to last more than 11 years in this mountain region is amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1991 Plymouth Acclaim 3.0L. V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L. V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

A reliable and quick car

Faults:

The transmission computer broke, while car was still under warranty.

Started using oil at 160,000 miles.

Fuel pump assembly rusted out and required replacement at 160,000 miles.

The catalytic converter plugged up at 165,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very quick car with much power to spare.

The transmission is a little quirky sometimes, but has never caused problems.

I love the very reliable Mitsubishi engine.

The interior of the car is not very ergonomically designed and lacks good cup holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

4th Mar 2004, 20:51

Very similar results.

Haven't burned any oil yet and I'm up to 193k.

Transmission is quirky and in fact had to be rebuilt around 150k.

Car isn't very ergonomic, but then again what cars were of that time. Not many.

Infinity radio speakers kept on getting lose connections requiring replacement of speakers (happened 3 times)

Overall a very solid and reliable car, with quite a bit of power (V6) and a pleasure to drive.

1991 Plymouth Acclaim 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance52400 miles

Summary:

A great cheap car with a good engine

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car, however every now and then after it has sat awhile and I start it up and try and accelerate the car is very jerky for about 3 seconds then it is back to normal.

Also it usually takes two turns of the key to get it to start, but never more than 2 which is probably due to the spark plugs or something.

And there is some green liquid leaking from the bottom of my car due to original hoses, but that won't be too bad to fix.

General Comments:

This car is very good for a first car. It has a V6 and is faster than my families 2000 Blazer and 2001 camry.

The pickup it has is very very good for an 11 yr old plymouth and surprised me. Most my friends are amazed at how such a "granny-car" can haul.

Handling is alright although nothing special, but it works for me.

There is a ton of space and room for people and luggage which is a definite plus.

Gas mileage is very efficient and doesn't suck down gas too fast.

The factory stereo sucks pretty hard-core so I bought a new deck and am getting some speakers installed to freshen it all up.

Overall it is a very good car for the money and I am satisfied with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

14th Oct 2008, 15:13

I just bought a 1990 plymouth acclaim for 300 dollars only thing wrong with it was the fuel pup, what else should I concern my seself with,

1991 Plymouth Acclaim LX 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance285000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A very reliable, capable and economical vehicle.

Faults:

Undoubtedly the most reliable car I've ever owned (have owned 25 cars). Has only left me stranded once (starter motor) in 8 years and 255,000 km.

The only major weak point with this vehicle is the 4 speed overdrive transmission (Chrysler had a lot of problems with these in the early 1990's) - transmission was first rebuilt under warranty at 113,000 km. Key to transmission longevity is to install a transmission cooler and change transmission fluid and filter once every year. This second transmission lasted for over 170,000 km despite some severe usage (frequent trailer towing of 1700+ lbs).

Minor problems include recurring oil leaks (valve covers) and valve seals which allow some oil to escape through the exhaust.

Car still has original alternator, timing belt, water pump, air conditioning (never touched), heads and head gaskets. All power equipment (seats, windows, locks, mirrors, etc.) still works. Original paint is still in very good condition with very little rust (only where there are stone chips).

General Comments:

This vehicle has the optional 4 wheel disc brakes with anti-lock braking system which results in excellent braking performance (no fading and short stopping distances).

Engine power from 3.0 litre V6 is quite good with plenty of torque for towing and passing. This is not a high revving motor but as engine rpm is quite low at highway speeds (2500 RPM at 80 mph) this is really not an issue. Fuel mileage (32 mpg highway) is very respectable for a 3000 lb sedan that can hold 5 people and their luggage.

The car handles well with the LX suspension and 60 series 15 inch tires (standard equipment).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

28th Sep 2001, 12:04

These are definitely one of the best used, small family sedans anyone could buy. The V6 is a very powerful engine for this car, but it's reliability suffers compared to the underpowered 4 cylinder engine, which has better than average reliability and lasts a really long time. The 4 cylinder engines quite frequently last over 200k miles without a rebuild. Mine lasted close to that before I was in an accident with it.

22nd Feb 2004, 00:55

My 93 acclaim with the 3L V6 as been the best car I have ever owned. It has 390000KM on it with the original transmission and engine. The only complaint with this car is It is not very good in snow. It has traction problems. Another issue is the paint on the hood. All around it is a very reliable car and it still runs like a new motor and it starts every morning without a bloack heater. The body is excellent and it is very good on fuel with it's 3SPD automatic transmission. The AIR conditioning even works with the original system. I like my car and I would buy another one. It's never let me down and it's easy to work on.

21st May 2004, 19:10

Our 91 acclaim 2.5 was very unreliable, camshaft problems, head gasket, and rocker arms caused by the camshift made junk it at 101k.

I am now driving 1989 acclaim lx v6 with 119k, it needs a brake job.

18th Sep 2005, 23:20

I'm now at 130k on my acclaim and its running great!

22nd May 2007, 22:41

My father bought a V6 Acclaim in 1991 when I was 11 years old. He gave it to a ne'er do well brother of his when it had over 190,000+ miles on it (and had never burned a drop of oil). It was a smaller car and not much to look at it, but Dad swears it was the best car he ever had.

A modest, but fine sedan.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews