1989 Plymouth Horizon 2.5 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Driving this car will make you the envy of all your friends

Faults:

It didn't have an engine in it when we bought it (which would explain why it only cost 200$).

Something in the shifter keeps breaking, causing the car to get stuck in one gear (driving home from town in 2nd gear sort of sucks).

The hatch doesn't stay open if I don't prop it open with my baseball bat.

The valve cover is loose, and leaking oil onto the manifold, causing some major smoke and stench.

General Comments:

This car rocks. I love pulling up beside some cocky looking guy in a new, shiny car... and leaving him in my oil burning exhaust.

The radio is pretty nice for being factory. The tape player even works!

If you snag some windshield wiper fluid tanks and pumps from another car, you can mount them easily under the hood, and create high-powered squirt guns. Just point the spigots out above the blinkers, and install toggle switches in the middle console.

This car is great for long trips. It has a lot of head room, and the windows are all nice and big. You can make faces out of all 6 windows.

This car is a lot cooler than it seems at first glance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

28th Jul 2001, 16:21

I just bought a 1985 Horizon and the valve cover is broken on mine, too. Checker does not carry this part and I don't really want to go looking through a junk yard for the part. If you know an east way to get hold of one of these, please tell me!

1989 Plymouth Horizon Standard from North America

Summary:

Excellent car for Plymouth

Faults:

Cover gasket was last changed 3 months ago.

Alternator has been changed for a rebuilt one.

My steering belt is starting to make strange noises, but the belt is good.

General Comments:

Is running pretty well for a old car.

The seats are very comfortable, maybe more than Toyota Corolla 1999.

If Plymouth exist again and rebuilt the Horizon 2002, I will buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

20th Aug 2001, 23:08

Dude! I totally agree with you... if there was a 2002 Plymouth Horizon available, and it were half as nice as my '89; I'd be all over it! They just don't make 'em like they used to.

27th May 2003, 08:57

I also have a Plymouth and all of my door handles broke, and after I hit about 65 it starts to shake, but other than that it is a really great car!! (this is my 2ed one)

2nd Feb 2004, 21:18

My '89 Horizon has 120k miles. It has been towed behind the motor home for about half of that. The door handles have broken twice. I'm looking for a source for door handles now and will probably drive it for another 20,000 miles.

16th Aug 2004, 15:09

To the guy who's Horizon is shaking over 65 mph: This is a problem I also experienced with my '89 Horizon, and it is most likely a problem with the wheel alignment, though I have not tested this theory as of yet.

5th Jun 2006, 01:28

I currently drive a 1989 Plymouth horizon and it is doing great considering I'm sixteen and run its wheels off. I also had it well over 65 m.p.h. and have had no shaking or door handles breaking off and my car has 142,000 miles on it. The best part is that I only paid $50 for the vehicle and it ran when I bought it.

6th Jul 2006, 12:12

Hi. I have an 89 Horizon. The car runs great, despite my negligence. As for the vibration, these cars have pressed wheel bearings which may cause the vibration. I changed them on mine and it is quite a job. The door handles issue must be either a curse or a clever ploy by door handle makers! If anyone finds cheap ones please inform me! So far the cheapest I found was 12.95 a piece.

4th Feb 2007, 18:15

As far as the shaking goes.. check to be sure that all four of your wheels are balanced.

1989 Plymouth Horizon Hatchback 2.2 from North America

Summary:

Horrible exterior, but overall excellent runner

Faults:

Bucket seats are extremely uncomfortable.

Radiator fluid hoses popped at 97,000

Rust, rust, rust and more rust.

New tires, old ones were horrible.

General Comments:

I bought this car in August 2000 for $600. What do you expect for 600, seriously.

As a 1989, I thought it was the most horrible driving experience in the world. The comfort isn't all that good either.

The paint chips away and the next month, it will chip even more. Obviously this car isn't for looks.

Being that it is a horrible looking car, it runs like a champ. I've never had problems with the engine yet. I look forward to the CV joints going and engine's head gasket blowing when it hits 100,000. I'll be prepared. Always starts though, so it's good for any kid.

Any questions: kevinlwc@juno.com

I would gladly help to answer questions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

1989 Plymouth Horizon America 2.2 from North America

Summary:

Overall a pretty decent car for the price

Faults:

Fuel pump, various electrical problems, terrible on tires.

General Comments:

Good first car, gets you from point A to point B (and sometimes C). Very reliable (at least mine was). The car runs forever if you change the oil regularly (I did every 2750). I rate this car an 8 based on the price you pay for it (I paid 1600 for it in 1996 at 83,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2000