1997 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 4 of 13

1997 Plymouth Neon Highline 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Economic, reliable little car

Faults:

Normal wear and tear.

Replaced rotors, calipers, and pads in the front brakes.

Oil changes, spark plugs, and filters @ recommended intervals.

General Comments:

This car gets great gas mileage. Very reliable... starts every time... runs great even with 103,000 miles. on it. Not the most comfortable car, but if you are looking for a car that gets great gas mileage and has low maintenance costs, than this car is what you are looking for. If you take care of this car, as with any car, it will last a long time.

I like the Highline version.. it is a lot faster than the original model.

People on here have problems with just about any car because they drive them like they are in Nascar and don't change the oil or fluids/filters. Then they think it is the car's fault that they blew a header. Cars don't take care of themselves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2006

1997 Plymouth Neon Highline 4 cylinder DOHC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Summary:

It served me well for over five years, but now it's time to just let it die

Faults:

Blown head gasket at 40,000 miles.

New head cracked at 95k, never got it fixed because car is not worth repair price and still drivable.

Power steering pump and transmission went out within 2 weeks of each other (110k)

Plastic lining the windows melted and warped in the sun.

Trunk lid seems to be slowly sneaking into the backseat.

Trunk leaks when it rains.

Snaps that hold the door panels on keep breaking.

General Comments:

Awesome gas mileage - still gets 40 mpg highway and 35 city - even with the cracked head and no power steering.

Until recently, has been a reliable and cheap pizza-guy car full-time for the last 3 years.

It is the easiest car in the universe TO BREAK INTO. Seriously, you can pull the window out far enough to stick your arm in. (This discovery was made after I had been robbed)

The ignition cylinder went bad a month ago (130k)

The alternator went out last week (133k)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

1997 Plymouth Neon 4 dorr sedan 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Has been an excellent everyday car

Faults:

At 101000 miles head gasket went. Strange way to go though. The oil actually went into the cooling system. What a mess to clean out. Headlight fogged at same time. Motor mount a few miles after that. Keeping tires on it seems to be an issue. Keep on getting puddles of water on passenger side floor back seat.

General Comments:

Likes car a lot.

Economical and comfortable for a cheap car.

Has made long trips well.

Although sound system is terrible and fan is very loud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2005

1997 Plymouth Neon Expresso 4 cylinder 16v from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 16v Automatic
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

Started leaking oil just after warranty ran out! Dealer said needs new head gasket and wanted $500 to replace.

General Comments:

Brakes squealed from day one!

Transmission didn't shift right and leaked oil right after warranty ran out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

1997 Plymouth Neon from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

My car is pretty reliable

Faults:

Air conditioner makes a squealing noise when on so I don't turn it on anymore.

Brakes went out the first year I had it, but I replaced them.

Alignment is always off.

Spark plugs broke.

Oil Leaked, but I got that fixed.

Brakes constantly make a terrible noise.

There is a weird rumbling noise coming out of the back of my car.

The blinker light will turn on sometimes when I push on the brakes.

General Comments:

I love my Jenny (my car name). I have had her for almost 5 years, and she has handled well. Despite all the noise that she makes, she has done well. I have driven many miles on freeway and have been lucky enough to not hit any trouble while I have been driving. The car has been pretty reliable for me. She starts up every morning, even when frozen. This is my second car, and I love her. After I'm done with school I will end up getting a new car, but for now, she is doing just fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2004

11th Mar 2006, 08:32

When you had to oil leak... what was the ultimate problem with it. My car has an oil leak and I was wondering if it was the same problem.

11th Jul 2006, 06:47

Check the rear oil seal of the engine. There appears to be a problem in some Neons with seal failure at the back of the engine (between the engine and transmission). I have a '96 Neon with this problem and my daughter has a 2001 with the same problem. The oil collects at the back (firewall) side of the engine and drips off from time to time (friends with paving stone driveways get very irate so park in the street!). Unfortunately the engine has to come out to change the seal, or so I'm told. I have yet to resolve it in either of the two I've mentioned. Maybe a job for a long weekend since I have the equipment. Good Luck.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 49 reviews