1997 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 8 of 13

1997 Plymouth Neon Expresso 2.0L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 kilometres
Most recent distance69000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

The best investment I've made

Faults:

Nothing major.

Passenger side door doesn't always seal.

Door panel pulls off easy.

General Comments:

Overall a great little car, runs great with no problems. Hopefully no head gasket problems will occur. My only concern is that it seems to be hard on gas being that it has no overdrive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

1997 Plymouth Neon Expresso 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Dome light quit working.

Door buzzer doesn't work.

Fuse for electric fans keeps blowing. Causing my car to overheat.

Noisy windows.

General Comments:

My car has been very reliable except for the recent problem with the electric fans.

It has had only minor problems, and most of the problems it has I can live with.

I have punished this car severely. It will take anything I throw at it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

1997 Plymouth Neon Expresso DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance175564 miles

Summary:

If I had the chance I would buy another one!

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 145,000 miles.

Left Turn Signal blinks really fast sometimes.

Water built up in my left tail light.

Very cheap hub caps.

Steering wheel seems a little jumpy sometimes.

I had to replace the same fog lamp 3 times since I had it.

The fuel relay went out just recently and was only $40 to replace.

General Comments:

So far I haven't really had any trouble out of my car.

It has been hit on the side, but not bad enough to do any real damage.

It handles really good and can take almost all I can throw at it.

Handles pretty good in the winter because its front wheel drive.

Great stereo system.

The spoiler does seem to be in the way when backing up.

The seats are very comfortable, and I haven't had any trouble out of them, so far.

Its been driven hard, and it still runs good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

1st Feb 2004, 13:02

Great review I might be buying the same model.

1997 Plymouth Neon Highline 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54845 miles
Most recent distance86296 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

My baby

Faults:

Fortunately nothing has gone wrong.

Although the air-conditioner can be more efficient.

General Comments:

Great car; reliable and practical with a little extra zip.

Neons do need lots of care so be prepared to put maintenance money into it--just remember you take care of it the car should run great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2003

1997 Plymouth Neon sedan 16v 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 16v 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles

Summary:

A horrible car, but a good car if you want to put more money in it than it's worth

Faults:

Head gasket had to be changed two days after I got it.

Head gasket has been changed 4 times.

Tires are always out of alignment.

Door Ajar light keeps flickering on and off.

Dome light used to flicker with the door ajar, but now it doesn't work at all.

Lost all power to radio and dome light.

Turn signals have been replaced 3 times.

Had to fix the transmission.

Glove box and air conditioning vents rattle when driving.

Car won't stay running for more than 20 minutes.

Left turn signal turns on when I hit the brakes.

Door panel has ripped in half.

Constant oil leaks.

General Comments:

This car is my first car, but I will never own another neon.

It has some pick up, but doesn't run smooth at all.

The seats are uncomfortable.

This car would be a good car if you like to waste your money on it.

I paid $6,000 for my car, and I have already put more money into it then I have paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

17th Aug 2003, 07:41

You are totally right dude. My neon has a total of 31,000 miles and it is already down for head gasket problems, turn signal problems, paint somewhat unsatisfactory, leaks, as well as a possible trannsmission problem. I am very disappointed in this car and wish that I could just bought a bicycle. I will never ever buy a Dodge product again! Even if it was given to me... I would most likely donate it to the Monster truck foundation.

1997 Plymouth Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

A lemon on wheels

Faults:

Fan belt broke 2 months after I bought it.

Paint is falling off.

Fuel pump broke verry expensive part to fix.

Back window cracked.

Gauges do not work at all.

Turn signals always blow out.

Radio started smoking next day after I bought it.

Don't know why, but back seat is always wet even if it rains or not.

Trunk always has 3 inches of water in it.

Will not pass emissions test due to check engine light.

General Comments:

This is the worst car ever made, dodge should be ashamed for making such a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

2nd Feb 2004, 02:19

You certainly DID buy a lemon on wheels, but in your case I don't think Chrysler is to blame. YOUR NEON WAS IN A FLOOD or otherwise submerged in water! Next time, Don't buy your car from a curber or a shifty used car lot/dealer. You have electrical short problems (lights not working, radio shorting out, etc), serious paint flaws, a lot of water in the trunk and an always-wet back seat! The only problem I saw on your list that was a reported problem was the turn-signal-while-braking problem. And guess what--that was primarily a problem in COLD or WET/COSTAL ENVIRONMENTS because of salt and moisture! A flood would also cause that.

You indicated that the radio bit the dust the day after you purchased it, and that many of the problems were there all along. Why did you buy the car? Did you do it sight unseen or something? Was it exceptionally cheap? Didn't you get it inspected? Didn't you do a lien and registration history check on it to make sure the previous owner didn't have a title loan on it and/or hadn't written it off? A car is an important purchase... DO YOUR HOMEWORK!

Neons are not noted for flawless construction and reliability for sure, but the only serious recurring issue they had was with the head gasket. Other problems are either comparatively minor (seal leaks/noise around the frameless windows, some weak points in electrical components) or due to hard driving/abuse (automatic transmission sticking in gear--if the A.T. fluid is cooked/blackened it's a good sign the car has been driven too hard). Treat them well and they'll be good cheap transportation.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 49 reviews