1997 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 5 of 13

1997 Plymouth Neon Expresso 2.4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

Rotten rotten costly costly chunk of metal

Faults:

Odometer cable out 1 week after purchase.

Serious knocks not long after.

Racket Pinion steering went out while driving with the kids inside - went all over a 3 lane road and back hitting both sides.

Head gasket out now at 78000 and water is in oil.

Brakes squeal like a tortured cat when starting out no matter what you do to resolve the matter.

General Comments:

Horrible piece of mechanical and engineering work. Unsafe and a rotten buy. if you like your money do not waste it on this (I hesitate to call it a car). Plymouth should be ashamed they haven't recalled and reimbursed every buyer for both new and used...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

7th May 2005, 19:09

I have a 1997 Neon, and I have problems with the brakes squealing also.

1997 Plymouth Neon from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

This car is crap!

Faults:

The car overheats all the time, to the point where I would have to pull over and let it cool for maybe a half hour.

Leaks oil very badly. I can't even get the oil changed because after a weak there is not oil in it. I put about a quart in every 2 weeks.

Brakes squeak horribly in rain and the first couple times you brake every time you start it.

Air conditioning blows hot air.

It has trouble starting. I have to continuously turn the key and pump the gas.

Not a smooth ride at all, especially when you first start the car it feels like it's going to fall apart.

I bought the car at about 60,000 miles and problems started the first week I had it, overheating especially.

Right now it's at about 83,000 miles and in the past month its stalled numerous times and overheated so much I had to leave the car and come pick it up the next day. After cooling all night, the car overheated the instant I started it the next day, and then stalled and has never started since.

General Comments:

While owning this car I prayed for it to blow up or get into an accident so that my insurance would get me a new one. I now understand why people want to commit insurance fraud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

22nd Sep 2004, 16:24

Well if its like most of our Neons its the freakin head gasket.. good luck.

23rd Feb 2005, 15:15

It is the fan relay sensor. It's a little block sensor located under the battery box. Parts stores will tell you it's only available from the dealer. I went to the junk yard and found a totaled 96 with 7,000 miles and bought the relay out of it for $5. Of course about 100 miles later my oil pan gasket went out and the engine blew!!!

1997 Plymouth Neon Expresso 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100860 miles
Most recent distance103500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Fog Lights Inoperative.

Reverse Lights Inoperative.

4 of 6 speakers inoperative.

Fuel pump went 3 times.

Trunk leaked.

Brakes & power steering noisy.

Loud pinging sound when car is warm.

General Comments:

The car itself performed very well, with tight steering and OK fuel economy. I also found the inside comfortable, though loud & noisy, with creaks everywhere.

I didn't pay much for the car, and I guess there is a reason for this. My neighbor sold me a lemon, because of the fuel pump problem. I was stranded 3 different times in a 5 week period. It's a shame, because I did like the car overall, and would have kept it, but the fiance' said no. Plus, the deal on our new Camry was too good to pass up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

1997 Plymouth Neon Expresso 2.0L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

Great performance for a good price

Faults:

The head-gasket started to leak at 85,000 Km.

The fan module failed at 175,000Km. (the Voyager fan module works & costs half the price of the Neon module).

The backup light switch has failed 3 times.

General Comments:

The handling and power are very good for the price.

For snow & rain I find Yokohama Avid Touring tires superior to the factory Eagle GA tires and they cost less.

It's a bit of a squeeze for me (6'1").

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

6th Jul 2004, 23:08

Sorry to say, but Neons are SLOW not to be mean, but I recently raced one with my 91 Acura Legend and I blew it out of the water and my car is a Stock Automatic!!

12th Dec 2009, 19:13

I realize this is an old comment, however, may I add that this person most likely had a V6. Add also, for the size and class of car the Neon is in, it is quick. I own one, mine is completely stock, automatic, SOHC. It jumps up to 60 MPH with no trouble at all, about 9 seconds. Not bad for a 15 year old car with only 132 HP.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 49 reviews