1986 Pontiac 6000 Reviews - Page 2 of 7

1986 Pontiac 6000 LE 1.6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Awesome - Reliable and easy to maintain

Faults:

I had to replace the battery (though I doubt it's ever been changed due to the fact it was owned by an elderly lady who never drove the car).

Replaced the starter.

The wires in the windows must of been severed from opening/shutting the door, since the windows stopped working until I sautered them together again.

It made some clunking noise when put into reverse/drive occasionally. Though I've never seen it cause a problem -- I assume it's cause I don't let it idle down enough sometimes...

I replaced the muffler.

A/C doesn't work (need to change the system over)

Overall, this car has been great with little up keep, and has cost me very little. Just had to do the general maintenance

General Comments:

This car may not have tons of power, but it sure is reliable.

It was my first car and I really am glad it was, because the 2 years that I've had it so far have been good. Very cost efficient.

I almost don't want to sell it and just keep it for backup, because I feel it will run forever.

It is also comfy and good on gas. I generally get about 285 miles on a 14 gallon tank (Minus the winter... I get less then)

I definitely recommend this car!!! Especially if you want a worry free car... esp. for your teenager.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

1986 Pontiac 6000 SE 2.0 INL 4 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 INL 4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles

Summary:

Great!!!

Faults:

Flat tire. that's it.!!!

General Comments:

This is a hot first car~~~

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2005

4th Jan 2010, 20:47

Didn't the SE come with a 6 cylinder? I have seen so few SE's, but the few I saw had 6 cylinder motors. Has the car been reliable?

There are two web sites: a-body.net/forums and the 6000 club.

1986 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8L X CARB from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8L X CARB Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired221000 kilometres
Most recent distance348000 kilometres

Summary:

Good value

Faults:

Fuel tank (once)

Radiator (2 time)

Ball-joint (4 time)

Alternator (3 time)

Fuel pump (once)

Starter (once)

Battery (once)

Heater radiator (once)

Drive shaft (4 time)

Tie rod (once)

Heater fan blower (once)

Wiper engine (2 time)

Wiper arms (once each)

General Comments:

Best car ever own. Put 7000$ of repair in 7 years. Never being stock on the road. Never drank a oil drop.

Always start in Winter even at -40

Scrap it 2 month ago. Back wheel differential went of the body.

I own now a 1989 same model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

1986 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86144 miles
Most recent distance142157 miles

Summary:

A comfortable, reliable car

Faults:

This car has had three steering racks, but the last one installed has held for 10 years.

Tended to lose motor mounts easily.

Oil leaks into spark plugs when valve cover gasket gets worn.

General Comments:

One of the most comfortable cars with the smoothest ride I've ever been in.

Car handles well and steering is very responsive.

Pretty good pickup for a small engine!

Very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2004

1986 Pontiac 6000 Landau 2.5L 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Rare and stylish Landau model

Faults:

Alternator belt went many times.

Speedometer and odometer never worked.

Alternator and battery replaced.

Rear calipers seized.

The 2 doors sag heavily.

Cassette on the stereo jammed.

Leaky tank, cracked windshield.

Rust along bottom of doors (appears to be common on 6000s in the North).

Eventual major engine malfunction, forced to scrap after pushing it too hard.

General Comments:

2.5 L 4 far to weak and whiny, not in character for the car.

Very stylish, much more attractive than most boring, but underated 6000s (STEs are stylish too, but common and not as classy), with factory classy wire-spoke wheels.

"Poor man's Eldorado?" "Pimpin'"

You will find SE, LE, STE, STE AWD, but try to find a Landau? Must be rare and collectable.

Performance was poor, 2.5 does not like to be pushed.

Cheap to fix, but was in the shop a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

1986 Pontiac 6000 STE 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance86300 miles

Summary:

I love this car!!!

Faults:

First I has to replaced the heater core.

Then I was dirt racing with a friend and shredded a tire.

Broke of three of the 5 rotor bolts on passenger side front tires.

Emision problems.

Had to replace the whole brake system.

General Comments:

This car is a awesome car. This is my first car and it is a delight. the problems that are listed are generally my fault cause I drive it like a sports car. many people refer this car to a poor man's BMW. this is wrong. its more like a poor man's maybach. lol. the interior is very roomy and comfortable, and the engine is lively and quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2004

4th Jan 2010, 19:53

I own two 85 STE's, and I know what you are talking about abusing the car. When I was a young adult, I would take my fathers Fiat 124 off roading, which I hoped he would never find out.

If you need any assistance with your car, there are two websites that will answer questions you may have on your car: http://www.a-body.net/forums/index.php and the 6000 club.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews