1986 Pontiac 6000 Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1986 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

A solid car for general use

Faults:

Head gaskets.

Washer motor.

General Comments:

A reliable car. About to turn 200k miles this week. A bit hard on gas, but it is liveable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

1986 Pontiac 6000 STE 2.8L MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8L MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7500 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Outstanding sports sedan that when dressed up can compete with the best!

Faults:

Over the many years I have had the vehicle, naturally I have experienced the need to replace numerous components. However, I note that common among those which have failed prematurely are the various (read virtually all) electrical accessories & sensors.

General Comments:

I LOVE THIS CAR!!! I confess that between my poor wife and two children that are now driving we own five vehicles. They are:

1. My original 1986 6000 STE

2. Another 1986 6000 STE (for rebuild)

3. Another 1986 6000 STE (My wife's)

4. Another 1986 6000 STE (Parts car)

5. 1988 Pontiac 6000 Wagon

6. 1992 Sunbird SE

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

16th Dec 2001, 16:20

I love my Pontiac 6000, too.

I wish I could contact you with a problem I am having with it. I have a carburated model and it quits on me after start stop driving, after about 30 minutes. We leave it where it breaks down and come back and get in it for about 3 hours and it runs fine. It is good on gas and very comfortable when seating our four kids and my husband and me. I just wish we knew what the problem was.

---Aleta.

22nd Jan 2002, 03:43

I also love 6000's. I have a 86 STE that I'm rebuilding from two other parts cars. My dad has a 90 all wheel drive s/e 6000 that I also love. I've tried to get it stuck in the snow, and haven't succeeded yet.

31st Dec 2009, 00:31

I love that your whole family has them! I loooove my '88. Love it. Sometimes it seems the thing does "self repair." And mechanics love it. They are always giving me deals and say they just like working on it. And it's not as if I look like Angelina Jolie! LOL.

4th Jan 2010, 20:01

Hello! I find it amazing that you have as many STE's as you do. I have two 85's, one of which I bought in 07 with only 127,000 miles on it. Tell me what you are doing to keep your fleet of STE's alive.

kristopher.gerbracht@juno.com

PS: There are two web sites dedicated to the cars:

http://www.a-body.net/forums/index.php and the 6000 club.

1986 Pontiac 6000 2.5 FI from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 FI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

Good around town car

Faults:

I drive it really really hard, the engine is too small for the size of the car and I push it hard, but it has held up really good.

Replaced the distribitor twice, wiper pump, some others that I can't think of.

I broke something on it again when I wasn't paying attention and ran over a cememt parking stop thing, and it scraped along the entire bottom of the car.

Not a highway car, it doesn't have enough engine to go at high speeds.

General Comments:

But overall I really like it, and I wouldn't get rid of it unless necessary.

The car is horrible on gas when you have the A/C on, and it's really really loud, again I say a 4 cylinder is too small for that size of car, it's a 4 door sedan, and in perfect condition inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

6th Jun 2003, 09:09

I own a 1986 6000 too and I too agree it is slightly under powered, but it does have some get-up and go the previous owner ran it into a ditch and then I got it, and I am now in the process of replacing the bumper, grille, right front fender, and A-arm, but yes it is a great around town car.

1986 Pontiac 6000 STE 2.8l W from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8l W Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevelle

Summary:

A good choice if you want a cheap alternative to a BMW

Faults:

The engine spun a connecting rod bearing at 92,000. I had it completely rebuilt. Ignition module, various sensors, fuel pressure regulator, A/C controls, fog light, all have been replaced in the 10,000 miles I've had this car.

General Comments:

It's a good solid car, I will admit to being too hard on it when I got it (hence the failed engine). It still looks like a new car, and almost smells like a new car, and it does what I want it to do. Handles like a sports car and has reasonable power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews