1986 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 Litre V6 from North America

Summary:

Just a decent plain old sedan

Faults:

I can't say much has gone wrong with this car.

My grandfather bought it new in 1986 from a local Pontiac dealer, and he barely drove it until he died in 1994.

Following that it just sat in the garage until my father bought it off my grandmother, it only had 23,000 KMs on it at the time so it was quite a steal for a car that was 10 years old.

The main problem with this car has been rust, recently it has gotten really bad at the bottoms of the driver's and passenger's doors, as well as around the gas-tank lid.

One thing that has gone wrong is the spark plug wires eventually became cracked, which led to precarious starts and temporary stranding, at times, until we got them replaced.

The plastic of the interior just below the glove compartment has cracked.

Sometimes during long trips in the summer the engine-heat indicator will go on. Rectified by turning on full cabin-heat to draw heat away from the engine.

Not much else has gone wrong though, mostly due to the low mileage on the car itself.

Another problem - not something that has gone wrong, just a problem in general - with the 1986 cars, is the carburetion.

Why is it a problem? Well they are doing mandatory emissions testing in Ontario now, and 1986 was the switch-over point from Carburetion to Fuel Injection. So the carburetted and fuel injected cars of the same year are being compared on the fuel-injected model's level. Therefore the carburetted 1986's will have a much higher failure rate when it comes to the emissions tests, since they don't burn nearly as clean as fuel injected cars.

General Comments:

It's a decent car, if not a bit of a rust-bucket. Would make a good winter-beater I suppose.

As mentioned above about the problem with 1986 carburetted models, my dad's car failed the emissions tests, and so it will be gone by February 2003, unless we can convert it to fuel injection or somehow else get it to pass emissions tests.

If we are able to do this, then I will be the 3rd Generation in my family to own this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

10th Nov 2006, 22:53

Well if you still have the car, in Ontario cars that are 20 years and older such as yours don't require an emission test!

1986 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.5 liter from North America

Summary:

A car in which the body will rot away before the engine quits

Faults:

Had to replace brakes at 130,000 and again at 140,000.Fuel sending unit went at 146,000.Fuel lines rotted at 147,890.Just replaced valve cover gasket at 149,000.Doors are really starting to rust now, have to replace them shortly.

General Comments:

This car is great on gas and has excellent get up and go. Even at almost 150,000 miles on the odometer the car still runs and drives like it is brand new.

The repairs I have had to make on this vehicle have been cheap considering the age of the car.

There are a couple of negatives about the car like for instance, the body rotting out.

The dash board and seats are starting to wear and tear.

But overall this has been a really good car and very affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

1986 Pontiac 6000 STE 2.8 from North America

Summary:

This car can go 220 klm per hour at 5800 RPM and run cool getting 28 mpg (imperial)

Faults:

Electric ABS pump had to be rebuilt using brushes from a cross-referenced starter motor. Brushes are not available and garages will assume no liability for their labour. No bill was issued. Paid cash. Pump has worked for 8 years.

Re-upholstered drivers seat. $250.

Catalytic converter plugged with bad gas. Engine stalled and would not start. Head gasket had to be replaced. I rebuilt both heads at the same time. Maximum wear in one isolated guide was 4 thou.

Wiring in doors get brittle causing power window/lock failure. Replacing harness too costly. Soldering in new flexi wire with heat shrink lasts about 5 to 6 years.

Timing chain is due for replacement. Engine is very strong at 200,000 miles.

The ERS (Electronic Ride Control) is not available any longer. This is an automatic air-shock ride level control. Lasted 10 years. Pump got stuck on and ran the battery down and burned out pump. Replaced ERS with overload shock absorbers. Finally available. Work beautifully. I miss the ERS.

The plastic coating on the aluminum wheels had to be removed. Spray product worked well. Use a corrosion spray-on rinse-off product 4 times a year. Planning to have wheels machined to mirror finish in the near future.

General Comments:

This car is invisible to most eyes. Only the real car buff notices how well kept it is. No rust. I've repainted it and use the dent doctor when needed. You don't see these cars in excellent condition often. They are abused. "H" rated tires are fantastic. Thinking of taking the 16" wheels off a wrecked Chevrolet Eurosport for even more improved handling. These aluminum wheels looks the same, car for car.

I wish this car had independent rear suspension. A project would be to take the rear suspension out of the late-model Eurosport as well as the wheels.

Steering wheel stereo control is worth keeping alive. My goal is to tap into the pre-amplifier for more boost. Great radio! Way ahead of it's time for the period.

I also have the sliding moon-roof. It needs the cables replaced. About 4 hours labour and $150 for parts are scheduled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

18th Feb 2003, 16:14

I don't think this engine has a timing belt, but rather 2 large gears. I'm glad to see you take care of your baby. Has anyone had any problems with the headliner sagging?

14th Mar 2003, 15:10

The headliner would sag because of moisture from a leaky sunroof or spraying shampoo or fabric protector on it. The chemicals and or the moisture causes the glue to let go. You'll have to pull the headliner for an inspection. Do it in the shade on a mild summer day or a heated garage. If you have a sunroof inspect the cables and lubricate after wiping any dusty muck out of the cable channels.

22nd Nov 2006, 10:29

Hello it's the owner again. The odometer on the digital dash of the STE stopped and is frozen at 199,999 miles and when you select the metric button the kilometers show 121,867. Because the odometer cannot physically go beyond 199,999 numerically the 121,867 kilometers is actually 321,867 kilometers. This freezing of the odometer, from looking at service receipts I estimate that it was summer of 2002 that this all took place. Therefore based on 20,000 klms per year of this daily driver (my daughter drives it to work), there's over 400,000 klms on this STE now. I am still working at finding a way of resetting the odometer. If anyone figures this one out email me at weB50@hotmail.com. Thanks.

29th Apr 2007, 10:00

300,000 miles or 500,000 klms. 1986 Pontiac 6000 STE, moonroof. Using the service scheduler as a reference to the mileage on the car because the odometer stopped at 199,000 miles. The car is probably worth $2000. in the condition it is in with little rust, good glass and tires. I just spent $750. to replace an injector. The trouble-shooting is why the price so high. I thought it was an electrical problem. The ABS pump had to be replaced. I found a supplier in Detroit that sold the electric motor and hydraulic pump as a rebuilt assembly. $800. for the part and I installed it myself. Don't lose those clips that lock your electrical fasteners to your pump. Front end ball joint replacement again. Ball joints are a weak part of this car. New boots on rack and CV joints. New Battery is best replaced for what they cost. I tried to save the old one and with the garage testing it ended up costing twice as much.