1990 Pontiac Bonneville LE 3.8 from North America

Faults:

A/C not holding charge, but don't miss the A/C anyway.

Headliner was taken out; was drooping.

Slow power windows, but work fine.

Replaced a sensor at 130,000.

All belts, hoses, and original fuel filter at 117,000. New gas tank line as well.

Needs hood repainted; has lost its clear coat. (silver) rest of the paint is very good.

My daily commuter vehicle.

Replaced tires, brakes, battery in 2000.

No other problems, very reliable.

General Comments:

Purchased from an elderly owner in 2000, who had always kept it in a carport. I know its complete history and bill of sale.

Was always very reliable; driven from Delaware to Florida several times. A really comfortable, tight, fun car to drive.

Best upgrade was replacing the factory Delco AM FM cassette with an aftermarket in-dash AM FM CD 180 watt system, installed on sale for only $140 in 2003. Outstanding sound, bass etc with the 8 factory speakers direct plug in!

I can have the headliner replaced for $160; just got an estimate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

29th May 2005, 04:25

I wrote the original post. Sold the car with 149,000 miles running flawlessly. I sold it for $300 more that I had in it! The first person that arrived from my ad bought it on the spot. It was a great reliable commuter that served me well. I literally ended up driving it for free if you don't count the insurance.

1990 Pontiac Bonneville 3.8L V6 from North America

Summary:

Cheap and reliable style

Faults:

The car came with a full service record and the previous owner had no major problems.

At 182,012 miles the timing chain broke, and cost me $800.

The car started using oil at about the same mileage.

I figured I got my money out of it and traded her in.

General Comments:

A tradition, American highway cruiser that delivers 100%

Very reliable, until the very end.

A very solid car, not a squeak, rattle, or thump, even after 182,021 miles.

Roomy and comfortable, and in mint condition (like mine) it still gets looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

1990 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Best money I ever spent!

Faults:

Since I have had it

- a water pump (which was original) 169000m.

- 3 fuses 170000m.

- a battery 172000m.

- air conditioner pump runs constantly.

- the lights for the driver information center and the compass only work when they want to.

- currently in shop for repair of items listed above at this time 174000m.

- seats barely show any wear.

- all controls for seats and controls in steering wheel still function like new.

General Comments:

I love the moon/sunroof all summer long.

I have no problems with leaks.

I love all the storage space and compartments that are between the seats.

I would not get rid of this car for anything!!! I thought the Grand Prix was my dream car till I found this sweet machine!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

1990 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 3.8 Litre from North America

Summary:

A great investment

Faults:

My alternator went at 100,000 miles, replaced twice.

Water pump went at 101,000 miles.

Leather seats where worn ever since I purchased the car.

Headliner is being replaced at the moment.

Battery replaced at 105,000 miles.

Replaced stock rims with 18 inch wheels.

Wheel bearing and ball joint on the passenger side broke at 110,000 miles.

Transmission oil leak needs gasket to be replaced.

Changed instrumental panel, was not working properly.

General Comments:

This car is great.

Even with minor problems, this car is very reliable.

Very cheap to maintain.

Easy to work on.

The ride is very comfortable.

Lots of room.

Great handling and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2003

1990 Pontiac Bonneville LE 3.8 Supercharged V6 from North America

Summary:

I prefer the Bonneville!!!

Faults:

I had to replace the right blinker, reverse, and break bulbs when I first got it at 159,000 miles.

Back doors won't open, still.

Headliner is falling down, still.

I need the hood painted and a new grill, from previous owners damage.

The wheels are ugly as of now, but plan to put chrome drag wheels on it.

General Comments:

This car is very swift and the seats are very comfortable. Its very roomy. I love the way the 3800 sounds. The headlights and taillights are attractive. The radio antenna goes up and down on its own. Theres many limosine-like lights in the car. Power seats. One touch automatic windows. Red Gages easy on the eyes. Overdrive and cruise control. Good steering and loud horn. I like its huge invinsible bulky size. Plenty of room in the trunk. Wood grain interior. Great air cruising suspension. One switch that turns on all lights, about 10 of them. 5 ashtrays for easy smoking. Plenty of leg and head room. non-simultanious flashing blinkers. bright headlights for easy driving at night. My name is Markie Hampton and I drive a 1990 Pontiac LE. I'm 19 and I payed 875 bucks for it.. a whopper of a deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

6th Aug 2004, 18:50

First of all... they never offered a supercharger in 1990 on the Bonneville. - So sounds like your vehicle has been redone, and questionably so.

Secondly, 89-91 Bonnie's shouldn't have to be touched until they roll 300K miles.

Any Good mechanic will tell you that.

If that much stuff is going wrong, the car has been mistreated in the past.

I've got 265K miles on my 3.8L Bonneville, and its still running like a champ, and keeping up with the new bonneville's.

Thirdly, the bulbs shouldn't be popping that fast - sounds like something is funky with the electrical system.

I've only changed head light bulbs in ours, and 1 tail light bulb since we bought it new in 90.

Fourthly - In my opinion, these engines are Stronger than the current 3800 series II.

The All aluminum manifold on the 90 never will melt and hydro-lock the engine like the new ones will.

The block is thicker on the 90's, and doesn't require all the cross bolting to hold it together.

These are awesome cars, and I would buy another 90 in good condition in a heartbeat!

If you've got a lemon 90, Find another one that's a 1 owner and taken care of.

You won't be sorry.

27th Oct 2006, 03:14

This is a fantastic car. I bought mine for $800 off a used car lot and am very pleasantly surprised at how great it handles and how much power that 3800 V6 has. It really moves this car with authority and smoothness. It handles great and I like the red glow of the dash gauges. A highly impressive vehicle and mine has over 310,000 kms and still going strong. Pontiac builds a great car and Buick builds a great engine. A tough car to beat and it sure seems to have a lot more power than the 165-horse advertised.