1990 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 from North America


Styl'in Family Sedan


Heater Core leaked 183000 km.

Battery 183500 km.

General Comments:

When our 98 ZX2 was toasted by a Semi, my wife and I had to look for an affordable and reliable 4 door sedan for our new and growing family. We looked at several cars and the Bonneville was by far the nicest looking early 90's family sedan.

I love the style of the 87-91 Bonnevilles they are sharp looking, very comfortable and reliable. It has a lot of extras that even late 90's and early 00's models don't even have as options.

Options include air compressor for flat tires or filling up air mattress for a day at the beach. 9 adjustable position seats, electronic automatic heating system. It actually has more options than my 2002 F150 SuperCrew 4x4 FX4.

It is a very enjoyable vehicle to cruise in, very smooth with the air ride suspension. It has enough power for the city, but I figure it lacks a little zip like a V8 or 4 banger VTEC for highway passing and maintaining highway speeds up hills.

I am a little hesitant with all the electronic gizmo's because it just means more problems down the road. However, we have spent about $500 in over a year on maintenance. It gets great gas mileage for a larger sedan. 22mpg city and 35mpg highway. It has been a fantastic car reliability wise for a 13 year old car.

Overall, I would rate this vehicle an 8 out of 10. My wife rates it a 9 out of 10 because of the extra trunk space for the baby stroller, groceries and sports equipment. I would recommend this vehicle to young families or University/College Students who want a nice car that is reliable and good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

1990 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 from North America


A very capable sports sedan


The top of the windshield developed a leak at around 130000 miles, but it only leaks when the car is parked.

The fuel lines rusted through and developed a leak at 165000 miles. This was probably due to the salt they use on Pennsylvania roads in the winter.

General Comments:

This car has been excellent for 11 years. I have had no major mechanical difficulties.

I bought this car when I was 19 years old and have had it since new, it handles well and is fast and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2001

1990 Pontiac Bonneville LE from North America


* Problems with the alternator. Replaced several times earlier in my ownership. It is fine now.

* Replaced the fuel pump.

General Comments:

The mileage is not a typo. I have driven this car for over 250,000 miles. It still runs like new.

All I do to this car is fill the gas tank, change the oil, and occasionally replace the tires.

This is without a doubt the best car I have ever owned. It has great pick-up. It handles like a dream. I drive it like it's a sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2001

1990 Pontiac Bonneville LE 3.8 from North America


Reliable and roomy. A pleasure to own and drive!





Brake pads (twice).

Fuel pump and all fuel lines.

Oxygen sensor.

Exhaust system including the converter.

Tape deck.

Problems with:

Driver's seat control coming loose.

Short in the driver'ss side door lock that shorts only after it rains.

The clearcoat is peeling.

General Comments:

I received this Bonneville from my father-in-law. He purchased this car new and took excellent care of it. I hope I have continued the tradition.

Frankly this is a nice car to own. The stock 3.8L V6 is one of the most reliable engines I have owned. It is quite peppy however it takes a little bit to get her 3300 pounds in motion. The power is there when you need it. Expect 18-20 MPG in the city, and up to 33 MPG on the highway. For it's size the MPG is excellent. Heck, my Escort gets about the same MPG on the highway!

The maintainance on this car is pretty basic, and easy to do yourself. GM has had alternator problems in this model. I know of people who have put in two or three alternators in one year. I had problems with my alternator at about 90,000 miles. I purchased the best new replacement I could find (this is the key). I have not have problems with it since. Most of the items I have replaced have been expected. The waterpump, brake pads, fuel pump, O2 sensor, tape deck, and exhaust system all were expected.

The best part to mention of the above is the exhaust system. The stock exhaust is stainless steel. I just replaced it yesterday at 140000 miles. I just can't believe I was able to get that many miles out of an exhaust system. It is amazing! I also have the original struts on it... and they still don't need replaced!

All in all an excellent car to own. Keep up on the basics and it will get you anywhere. It has enough power and the engine is one of the most reliable made. It is also pretty roomy. I hope to keep mine going for many years (parking it in the winter will sure help!). I would recommend a Bonneville purchase to anyone (and any year after 1989).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

9th Jun 2008, 08:58

I also have a 1990 Bonneville- it's my first car. I've had the beast for about 3 years and the biggest thing I've had done was I had to replace the computer. Other than that, after about 6 wrecks and many trips to Gatlinburg, He still runs like the day I got him.

When I got the car, he had 1 scratch, 32,000 miles and brand new brake pads and a new oil change. I got him for about $2400 from a friend of the family. I have to say, I love my Bonneville. That car has been a true blessing, and the gas mileage is killer. I can spend $50 and fill it up completely and go for about 2 weeks without having to gas up again. The only problem I have with it is he sits so low to the ground. The road I live on is very uneven and there are spots I really have to watch as to not scratch the bottom. But I love my car. Bonneville's OWN!!!

1990 Pontiac Bonneville SLE from North America


A damn fine vehicle


There's a leak around the front windshield.

The windows sometimes roll down a little slowly, but still work fine.

I replaced the tires after I bought the car.

General Comments:

This was the first car I bought on my own. It's a great car and seems like it will last forever. It still looks good and people can't believe that it's over 10 years old. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2001

3rd Jul 2002, 21:39

Not to be rude, but there isn't a model SLE in the 88-91 body style. There was the LE, SE, and SSE. I have a SSE, and its the best car I've ever owned.

1990 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3800 from North America


Not a thing has gone wrong with it that shouldn't have. I have 254+K miles and have only changed oil, tires, an alternator at 164,000, a water pump at 200k and the lower radiator hose at 253k.

General Comments:

Very reliable, pretty sporty and body has held up well to Michigan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 1999

9th Aug 2001, 20:59

I love my 1990 Pontiac Bonneville. I think it is the best car that I ever owned. It is a very safe car that got a 5 star rating when it was tested. I feel so safe in it, especially in the winter when Pennsylvania's roads are at their worst.