1984 Pontiac Fiero Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1984 Pontiac Fiero SE from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

This is a very very fun car

Faults:

The stock stereo system went bad.

General Comments:

This car is extremely fun to cruise around in, and it turns a lot of heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

1984 Pontiac Fiero SE L4 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission L4 Don't Know
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

A great little car that should be put back into production

Faults:

My alternator stopped working at 90,000 miles as well as the starter. Changed both in about an hour.

Seats became torn at about 110,000 miles.

Paint starting to fade from being stored too long and age.

General Comments:

A great car with a great feel to it.

Handles the northeast roads with no problem until the snow flies.

The cabin is quite comfortable for the quick trip to the store a jaunt across the state.

The car sat for four years before I purchased it. Ran it for 2 years before storing it once again. Now 8 years later it is once again out of storage and ready to hit the highways once again.

Never needed more than general maintenance and a few other inexpensive parts. A true testament to Pontiac engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 02:13

I recently purchased my fiero and I don't know how I got along with out it.

This car gets the holeshot without even trying to race, did I mention 31 mpg with 133,000 miles if you don't own one whats wrong with you?

14th Dec 2005, 12:51

I had an 87 SE. It was an awful car. Yes it was beautiful and very comfortable, but it was not at all reliable. I had a minor engine fire, which fortunately I was able to put out because I always travel with a fire extinguisher. The brakes were not what I would call good and I found the suspension to be very stiff. All in all I would say it was GM's one big mistake.

2nd Jun 2006, 23:13

The sleek Fiero GT was one of the best looking cars ever built. To compare it to the dorky Solstice is like comparing a Ferrari to a Miata.

17th Jul 2006, 20:02

I've owned 2 Fiero'a and loved them both despite their flaws. As for the Solstice wait till the 260 HP GXP comes out in '07 I dare you to call it dorky.

1984 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.5L from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired147186 miles
Most recent distance156223 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

No better sports car for the money

Faults:

Starter Solenoid.

Battery cables.

Door locks.

Driver's seat bolster.

Ignition lock cylinder.

Spark plug wires.

Valve cover gasket.

Catalytic converter.

Right front brake hose.

Deck lid ajar switch.

Transmission cooling hose.

Wiper blades.

Thermostat.

Cigar lighter.

Driver's headlight motor.

General Comments:

The car is an absolute blast to drive! Handles better than any of the 30 or so I've ever driven. The mid-engine/rear wheel drive layout along with the rack and pinion steering allow you to really feel the road, and push the car to the limits.

The engine is easy to work on, as is most of the car. Anyone of moderate mechanical ability can fix most of the problems they're likely to encounter.

Most components that failed or needed to be replaced were the 20 year old originals. No parts that I've replaced have failed a second time. Parts are fairly inexpensive, especially those shared with other GM cars.

The car is far more reliable than my previous vehicle. It makes for an excellent daily driver if it is carefully maintained.

My only real complaint is the lack of power from the 2.5L four cylinder "Iron Duke" engine. While the car is quick, it really isn't fast.

I also regret not waiting to find a manual transmission car, although the automatic can still be almost as fun.

You won't find a better car for the price these usually go for!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2005

14th Jun 2005, 23:18

Fiero didn't come out 'til 84. Check your stats, man.

15th Jun 2005, 21:18

I put down the model year as 1984 (Which DOES appear half way through the review). When they asked when the car was built, I put 1983, because the car was actually built on December 8th, 1983. Maybe the site administrators will move it to the 84 model year section?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews