1984 Pontiac Fiero Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1984 Pontiac Fiero SE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

I love my little car and would encourage others to check out the Fiero

Faults:

Replaced the whole front suspension including shocks, brakes and calipers.

Replaced the rear struts.

Replaced the dash.

Added better stereo with cassette.

Repairing the engine as we speak.

Added custom striping.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my Fiero. I also love upgrading and especially customizing it.

It was the second Fiero in our family, so my plate reads Fiero2.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

23rd May 2001, 14:26

Hi tell me more please. should I sell my fiero I bought for 700 bucks. I need someone to appraise it.

7th Jan 2002, 19:28

Hi I am thinking of purchasing a 1985 Fiero that has 90k miles, looks to be in good shape and runs nice. A dealer has it and has had it for quite sometime. I am wondering what a fair price would be, thanks in advance for your input.

Also, how reliable are these cars? I have heard both pros and cons, it has the 4 cyl and automatic.

22nd Oct 2002, 19:41

I just got myself a 1985 Fiero with 150k miles for around 12.5k If that helps what number to estimate for well there ya go.

28th Jan 2009, 10:16

I love my car I got it when I was 17. It was $500 and has 120,000 miles. I love it!!! I would tell everyone to at least drive one if not purchase one. I've had it for like a year now.

26th Dec 2009, 15:17

Does the 84 Fiero have frame rust problems?

14th Jun 2012, 17:39

I am buying a red 84 Pontiac Fiero tomorrow for $500, and it had 130,000 miles on it.. I would like some input about this, and is the Fiero all bad like everyone says? I've always wanted one since my dad started talking about it. I am 17, soon to be 18, and I finally get one, and with my own money! I'm excited, but also worried.. Please email me daddyslilgirl45764@yahoo.com

1984 Pontiac Fiero SE 4 cylinder Iron Duke from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Iron Duke Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Am

Summary:

A great affordable, reliable and very customizable little sports car

Faults:

Many little things that have not even come close to taking away the fun of owning this great little sports car.

General Comments:

Due to its age, 16+ years now, all the problems I have had have been nothing major, that would cause me to even consider getting rid of any of the Fieros I now own.

This one was my first Fiero, thus the NH plate reads Fiero1.

My family and I are up to 11 Fieros now, which shows you how much we enjoy and appreciate this unique car in automotive history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

23rd Mar 2004, 08:36

I am purchasing a 1984 white Pontiac Fiero next week. I'm paying 1000.00 CDN. The vehicle has 150,000 original km. Vehicle looks and sounds sound. Is this too much to spend, and what problems should I look for before purchasing?

Thank you. My email address is endzonesports@rogers.com

If anyone has any information, please email me.

Regards, Darren.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews