1988 Pontiac Fiero Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1988 Pontiac Fiero GT 350 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Wicked Car

Faults:

Headlight motor quit, shifter console getting worn. Leaky trunk due to road spray from wheel wells.

General Comments:

Had all the problems fixed, frame was a bit rusty in back by trunk had new sections welded on. Did motor transplant using a 350 crate motor, brand new. Dyno rated 342 hp to the rear wheels. Had an 89 vette, but sold it for the Fiero. The Fiero is very fast with the new motor. Need new rear tires, Wider. Compared to my vette the fiero even with the stock 2.8 is almost as fast, but handles 10 times better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

1988 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Headlight motor went after 110,000.

Wiper motor died at 115,000.

General Comments:

Awesome car, fun to drive wicked handling. Really fast with a few minor motor and transmission upgrades. Compared to my 93 vette the fiero has way better handling more comfortable cockpit and almost as fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

12th May 2007, 20:21

I have an 88 Fiero. It's a fun car that is unique in that it's an American mid-engine vehicle with a space frame and composite body panels. Fieros are real "sleepers" due to the fact that many of these vehicles have been updated with a variety modern engines from Ecotecs, to Northstars, to 3.8 Supercharged, to small blocks. Likewise, interiors and suspensions have also been upgraded. Although stock in appearance, my car has a 3.4 L engine from a 95 Camaro. It's a quick, great handling car, and I never worry about seeing myself coming and going.

1988 Pontiac Fiero from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

High performance!

Faults:

Seats, speakers, inside were a bit bad, but salvageable from 14 years ago!

General Comments:

Well myself, I'm a young man. I have had quite a few cars that I have restored from age 14 (mostly Lotus Europa-mga and older models I helped a bit with). I would say I got lucky to get this car, my mothers ex-boyfriend sold me it for 500$! Nice condition, but it sat in his garage for the last 5 years.

Only minor engine problems from not running too much and poor inside from smoking and lack of care... The only problem with the 88 is that mine is an auto and I don't like that AT ALL. We are planning to convert it to a 5 speed clutch. We just ordered all the parts at my expense, but just thinking about it makes me want to put it together today.

OK to get to the point this car, the power, the feel, those corners, the power makes my foot just pound on that gas...

I can't wait to get a clutch in it, I mean I have driven a OLD OLD Indy Lotus and that car blew my mind. But once we are done with this one, it will put that indy car to shame!

If anyone is investing in a Fiero, it is one of, if not the best, cars on the line for performance if you do the right things to "her". And the best part is I'm keeping it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2004

13th Apr 2006, 10:27

You said of an Automatic Transmission to Manuel Transmission conversion. How has this turned out? Did it work out? I've had a stick shift, turboed car before my '87 GT, and I miss the feeling of the clutch as well as the gears. Any help on this conversion topic would be helpful, I REALLY miss my stick shift! (I would also like to keep the car and engine as stock as I can, increases classic car value ;-) )

1988 Pontiac Fiero base coupe 2.5 OHV from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 OHV Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Great car for $700. Unique and fun

Faults:

Replaced water pump at 94k ~ $25 done by me - difficult job.

Replaced dead front shocks and worn rears with KYBs at 98k ~ $180 done by me.

Ignition module died at 102k - $400 plus a tow.

Replaced alternator at 103k - did myself for $130.

At some point in the past, the battery must have leaked. The battery tray and chassis underneath was rotted so I had it welded for $225.

Car leaked oil heavily when I got it. Replaced valve cover gasket and oil filter gasket - No longer leaks at all! ~ $35 by myself.

One of my headlights is getting lazy. Just ordered repair kit for $13. Supposed to be easy fix on 87-88 fieros.

Ball joint mount is worn - BJ floats.

Front end bushings need replacement soon.

General Comments:

Car runs great. Could use more power. I'd love to do a 4.9 Caddy V8 swap. But I'm happy with 28mpg.

Handles great. I have Continental 205-55-16s on PT Cruiser rims. The rims are a perfect fit.

Red paint is faded, but no rust on plastic panels :)

Interior holds up well. Beechwood is attractive.

Car is not bad to work on. No timing belt to deal with.

I drove this car to the Fiero 20th anniversary in MI - 1600 mile round trip - no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2003

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 27 reviews