1988 Pontiac Fiero Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1988 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Good mileage and good performance

Faults:

The fuel gauge is very inaccurate. This has caused several late night trips to the gas station without the car.

I'm having to replace all of the clutch components, but the car sat for over a year before I got it, so that's understandable.

Lost the ignition module, common to all GM cars.

Every speaker had lost its foam surround.

Also the radio lost the ability to produce sound out of the right speakers.

General Comments:

This car handles much better than the previous years. My last Fiero was an 87 gt and it was much easier to push to its limits.

I think it could use a bit more power or closer third gear. However, who wouldn't want more power?

If your interested in getting a Fiero I would suggest looking for an 88. They redesigned the suspension, brakes and some other things. They are definitely worth the extra money people usually want.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

23rd Apr 2003, 02:08

Just an up date. Since writing the review I have had to replace the clutch, clutch slave and master cylinders and brakes. Not too bad, but a little pricey. I replaced the clutch with a center force dual-friction and the difference is amazing. Although it does increase the pedal pressure quite a bit. Still a good car.

1988 Pontiac Fiero GT T-top 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

Style, Performance, and Class!

Faults:

No major problems with this car. It had been in storage for 5 years when I bought it. Did normal maintenance to get it back on the road. Replaced tires, fuel pump, battery, and alternator.

General Comments:

This is my 13th Fiero, my second T-top 88. I have loved every one! This one is the Holy Grail of Fieros in my opinion and I couldn't be happier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2002

1988 Pontiac Fiero GT Supercharged 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Supercharged 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

I've owned Mercedes, BMW's, and Porsches, but I'll never get rid of my Fiero

Faults:

I had to replace all the cradle bushings and front end bushings because they were dry rotted.

I had it repainted yellow because it sat in the sun for a while.

General Comments:

I love my car and I will never get rid of it. This car has always been a dream of mine and I can't believe I'm looking at it through my window right now.

She has factory leather seats that are the most comfortable thing in the world.

I also hope to God that no one ever slams into me while I'm driving my baby because they will be in a world of hurt. That is if I can still get out of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

18th Oct 2005, 10:04

By all reports, if someone does ram into you, you are likely to climb out of the car with only a few scratches. But knock on beechwood that it may never happen.

25th Oct 2011, 19:19

The 3.8 engine swap is very simple with few problems. Search the Fiero forum for an expert. One is the Fiero Factory in GA.

1988 Pontiac Fiero Formula 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

This car is pure fun to drive and own!

Faults:

The car has had very few things wrong with it.

The distributor O-ring began leaking and needed replacement. It had 70K miles on it and was 10 years old.

Shocks at 70K miles.

Struts at 85K miles.

Interior has held up very well and exterior paint still looks showroom!

General Comments:

This car is probably the best buy I will ever make. I have never been left stranded by this car, despite its old age and high mileage.

Although now a rocket on the road, the V6 offers good acceleration and lots of torque at any speed for quick passes.

It handles like no other car I have ever driven. I can easily handle corners at triple the recommended speed limits without a problem.

This car turns heads! People turn heads to look at this car all the time, and many will come up to compliment it or talk to you about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2002

24th May 2004, 12:47

The 1988 Formula Fiero is a reliable high performance car which with a few modifications is superior too many cars in its class. I bought mine new and found that 16 years later, currently with the original engine 200k miles it still runs strong and with regularly service has had no major problems.

The best way to increase horsepower is to add a turbo if you wish to keep the original engine.

I have never had a problem finding parts. In order to keep operating with the latest technology in the performance area, modifications are being done. I've added or am in the process of adding, to my original Formula 17" rims, 12' front and real rotor brake kit, Tomco multiport injectors, sprint manifold set with heat coating, Cold air intake system made from 2-1/2" 16" gauge steel connected directly to the throttle body, 1' front drop spindle and rear struts with coil-over.

Modifications for personal comfort has been to install new speakers with tweeter and woofer, rap around dash, all new gauges, leather seats and short gate shifter with plate. There are numbers modification vendors for all components of the car.

I have found that the paint on the Fiero is of poor quality and expensive to repaint properly. The insurance is low and the value of the car is going up. I currently own three Formulas and one GT, my wife drives the GT and my son drives one of the Formulas.. Only the GT has an Automatic transmission which required a performance shifter kit.

Anselmo.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 27 reviews