1987 Pontiac Firebird Tran Am GTA 5.7L 350 TPI from North America


Anyone can love this car, just be prepared to spend some money


Things I've had to replace so far: MAF sensor, tires, radio, I also had to replace the gaskets on the tranny pan.

General Comments:

As with any car of this vintage it has had its share of problems. I've owned a few F-body cars now and realize any 80's F-body will have similar problems (hint for everyone to read a bunch of reviews before buying). I love the car and will never sell this baby. I have dumped a lot of money into the car on performance upgrades and also a nice new paint job, be ready to look at some faded paint if you are checking out cars of this area. Most of them aren't in the best of shape, but don't let minor cosmetic damage scare you off just be sure you get a fair price for what your buying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

21st Apr 2006, 11:07

I would also add to be very careful about buying cars that have been abused, something very common in "muscle cars".

The majority of Camaros/Firebirds were sold as V6 automatics, and usually to women that didn't abuse them. But the more high performance ones were probably ridden hard and put away wet, especially if they were owned by kids in their teens or 20's. That is why the insurance is so high on them relative to other cars of the same era.

1987 Pontiac Firebird GTA 305 HO from North America


Very fun car


Engine blown at 130000 Km.

Stabilizer bars broke.

The usual interior breaks or rips.

General Comments:

I forget how many owners before me and how they treated the car.

The engine is replaced, now with a 350.

The car is quick and handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

1987 Pontiac Firebird 5.0, 8 cylinder 305 from North America


Everybody loves the Trans-am

General Comments:

The Trans-am is the greatest thing to happen to me. I havent even got my license yet and I just bought the car a few days ago, but it quite possibly the ultimate chick magnet. And my buddy has his Alcamino and was thought he was all high and mighty, but now that I got the Trans-am he don't talk to big anymore cause he knows I'll pass him like hes standing still. The moral of my story is that the Trans-am is the awesome and should be worshiped as a god,

.....peace, The King

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2005

28th Oct 2005, 16:38

Sounds to me like you're talking about a car you don't own. Lame.

11th Nov 2005, 14:33

You really ought to concentrate on getting your licence, rather than trying to impress the girlies in your 20 year old car/

1987 Pontiac Firebird GT 2.8 V6 from North America


Air Conditioning quit working at 145,000 Kilometers

T-Top Leaks- Fixed with sealent

Alternator- Repaired at fountain Tire- 120.00$

Radiator- Got new one for free, works great.

General Comments:

I love this car, it is so quick and easy to drive. This car is very good for young drivers, it has a lot of get go. However, be careful not to step the gas pedal too hard.. you will be surprised at how responsive this car is. If you see a Firebird for sale, my recommendation is to do a test pilot I guarantee that you will be hooked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2005

26th Mar 2006, 04:29

By GT he likely meant GTA which was a package option of the T/A in 1987 (as if you didnt know). It was the first year GM put the L98 5.7L TPI corvette engine with automatic transmission as standard. Although old its pretty high tech. Good motor too!

T/As (and especially GTAs) are excellent!

In other words, it´s got "get go". ;-)

1987 Pontiac Firebird 5.0 4bbl from North America


It gets the ladies


One coolant pipe ruptured around 88,000 miles; it was replaced for a fifty cents.

Cloth seats on the driver's side are starting to rip.

Both front seat belts both broke the day after I purchased the car, but they were replaced.

Both lower-end tie-rods had to be replaced at 99,000 due to age.

General Comments:

This car is such a gas guzzler. I can't keep a full tank of gas for more than 4 days. It's horrible.

But this car generally gets up and goes. It's awesome, even for a small block V8.

This car is in perfect condition with no dings, dents, scratches or any rust at all!

It's hard to start sometimes though, because it has a carburetor, but generally it's not problematic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005