1987 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GTA 5.7L TPI 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7L TPI 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal Limited

Summary:

This GTA had one hell of a bang for its buck

Faults:

I've replaced the heater core.

I've been through 3 alternators.

I went through 4 transmission mounts (this car had one hell of a kick in 2nd gear) and 2 sets of tires.

And of course the usual oil changes and tune-ups.

General Comments:

This car was one mean ride. There was never even one car that stepped up to the plate that could walk away victorious. Unfortunately I sold the car, but in its place I've got a 1993 GMC Typhoon, which keeps my mind occupied most of the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

1987 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Dependable fast ride!

Faults:

The car is mint. No problems with this car. It drives solid and tight. Only problem is the washer fluid pump doesn't work and the interior light does not shut off.

General Comments:

This car is the best!! It turns heads wherever it is, and is quick. For a small V-8 (5.0), it has quite good pickup.

T-Tops also make this car a looker as well as the louvers on the rear hatch with the aerowing spoiler. I just wish it was a standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

4th Jul 2006, 04:40

A Firebird has got to be one of the worst cars Pontiac has ever made. Don't get me wrong, the engine plenty of power and torque, but that power is also what makes the car bad. You see the 5.0 is too much power for that body. As soon as you spin the tires, the frame and body twist slightly to the right.

Also, I should mention the fact that once you do over 100 mph, the nose will start to lift off the ground. Those are just some of the many problems this car has.

31st Dec 2012, 18:30

What did you expect??? Look at the stance from the front, it's aerodynamic... 100mph?? You didn't expect it to stay grounded, did you?

1987 Pontiac Firebird GTA Trans Am 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76500 miles
Most recent distance78423 miles

Summary:

Great fun car

Faults:

Transmisson, all sensors, hydraulic lifts for trunk and hood, radio, speakers, wheel wells, rear defrosters, washer fluid shooter, cat (doesn't have one know), cruise control, horn, ignition switch, intake gasket, oil cooler, no heat or A/C working.

General Comments:

Other than that the car runs great know with the new transmission - 700R4 with shift kit handles great. Looks good red with chrome and gold honeycomb rims

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2000

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GTA 5.7 tpi from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.7 tpi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired109065 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Am

Summary:

Best bang for your buck!

Faults:

Fuel pump died.

General Comments:

Incredible performance. 22 mpg around town and never lost a street race (Mustangs, Vettes etc) Handled very well and was a definite head turner. Aftermarket headers and a 3" exhaust made the car sound sweet, and I was always complemented for the sound. Would not think twice about buying another one, very sorry that I sold this one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2000

8th Feb 2001, 16:49

The 'Vettes must not have been trying too hard.

17th Jun 2004, 23:59

I have an 86 Trans Am GTA with the stock L-98/LT1 TPI 350.

I've only beaten one Vette with this powerhouse of an engine, so I'm a little curious as to how you're beating Vettes.

Vettes have the same engine as my GTA, but my GTA is much heavier. You do the math.

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GTA 305 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 305 TPI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Needs more power... and faster acceleration

Faults:

Im on radiator #2, and have had a blown intake gasket that was replaced about 2 months ago. Had a bent tie rod after sliding into a curb on ice. The aftermarket 3" exhaust pipe rotted out of the cat and I welded it back on with a new flange. The drivers seat has tears along the side, fixed that problem with seat covers. Air was recently recharged. It also runs hot in the summer, about 10 degrees hotter than usual, but that's probably normal.

General Comments:

This is a great handling car. Very dependable. Great overall car. If you wanna have fun, get one w/ T-tops and go! They sound excellent with sound system upgrades ie. new head unit with amp and subs. A real head turner when its cleaned and waxed -- arrest me red with black and chrome honeycomb rims. Just don't drive it with the air on, it robs too much horse power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

21st Apr 2001, 15:43

Very powerful car, sounds and looks great.

9th May 2002, 17:11

Needs more power and acceleration... maybe you shoulda broke the piggy bank and got a GTA with a 350??? or perhaps even one with a manual transmission.

20th Dec 2004, 18:15

Hi, I have a firebird 1987 and I don't some electric circuits are burnt and the mechanics don't know the circuitry for it or the map to find which one. Is there something like a map or instruction of the electric wiring of this car?

Please e-mail me at quest_is@yahoo.com.

Thank u.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 27 reviews