1987 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GTA 5.0 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 TPI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42500 miles
Most recent distance52300 miles
Previous carChevrolet C-1500 Truck

Summary:

Good bang for the buck

Faults:

Two clutches.

Alternator.

Water pump.

Rear spoiler has cracked.

T-tops leak.

General Comments:

I have not seen another car the same as this one yet. Red car, gold rims and decals, nine bolt rear end, t-5 trains, t-tops, and 5.0 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

7th Feb 2001, 10:35

I have a 1987 Trans Am GTA also. I love it. It doesn't have T-tops, and I am glad, because they always leak. You say yours has a 5.0. A GTA comes stock with a 5.7L 350 tpi. Mine is burgundy, and the spoiler is also cracked.

26th Feb 2001, 19:26

The GTA did come with a 5.0 and a 5 speed, can't get the 5.7 with a stick, the tranny can't handle the power. The smaller motor with manual transmission is actually almost as fast as the larger 5.7 liter. I had an '87 with a 5.7 liter. T-tops came with a few 5.7's, but not a good idea to get one as the body flex is too great. These are great cars! I only wish I still had mine!!!!!

20th Mar 2001, 16:50

I own a red with grey 87 firebird, not a GTA, but find that the 5.0/5 speed definately keeps up and outperforms some GTA's with a performance chip and racing suspension added. I'm the 2nd owner and its still under 60000 miles. This car runs great! I wouldn't trade it for my life!!!

9th Apr 2001, 02:20

I have a 1987 GTA and I never saw any 305 keep up with the 350. Would never let the car go. Will be worth great money and are lots of fun!!!

19th Jun 2007, 21:52

I have a 87 trans am G T A 5.7 fuel injection would like to know the horse power, Does anybody know.

27th Jun 2007, 05:53

Just bought a 1987 gta. with the 5.7. Does anyone know if they put the steering wheel with remote controls for the radio in any of the 87 gta's. mine has it and am not sure if it is stock, or a replacement. Thanks.

3rd Jul 2007, 23:29

I've got a bright red '87 Trans Am GTA with a 5.7L 350 out of a Camaro IROC-Z and a TH-700 tranny; after market t-tops that DO NOT leak...yet. Wish they were factory t-tops and that it wasn't an automatic. Needs new paint: front end is primer b/c the prior owner put flames on it, but didn't like 'em, clearcoat is starting to chip. Needs some electrical work...bummer. Fastest car in school I'll say that much

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.0 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 TPI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Pretty cheap to buy, and very sporty

Faults:

My gas lines rotted.

I had some brake problems, but that was my fault for waiting too long to change the brake pads.

My motor also got weak, but that's just because I beat the motor too much in my "driving fast all the time" days.

I have now rebuilt it and she runs strong again.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and like the example says, it does handle like it is on rails.

I also love the interior because it has the perfect setup for a really nice system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2001

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GTA 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

Underrated

Faults:

2 rebuilt engines (mechanics fault for not putting oil in).

Transmission.

Radiator.

Steering column.

3 alternators.

General Comments:

Great car. It has its defects, but I still love it and will never sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2000

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 305 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 305 TPI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

This car is my baby

Faults:

New bright red paint, about a year old.

Had a hole the size of a pin on the bottom of the radiator. Replaced the radiator twice (second one leaked like a seive, mechanic's fault).

Just put new front brakes on.

New BF Goodrich radial t/a tires.

T-tops used to leak, but I sealed the gasket up with silicone.

Drain plug on oil pan was leaking (mechanic stripped it during an oil change), I had to put an oversized plug in.

Needs an idle arm and ball joints, leads to the left.

Other than that it's all regular maintenance.

General Comments:

Really fun to drive and handles like a dream. Holds the road better than anything else I have ever driven.

Bright red paint turns a lot of heads in the summer when it's clean and polished.

T-tops a major plus, I never use the A/C.

I'll probably never buy anything other than a Camaro or Firebird again. Nothing else is this much fun to have and drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 27 reviews