1987 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1987 Pontiac Firebird Formula 350 5.7 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Great bang for the buck!

Faults:

The woman who owned it before me never changed the oil, and as a result, I had bearing wear by 60,000 miles. But I don't blame that on GM... the car was abused by its first owner. An engine rebuild was OK with me because it gave me an opportunity to add on some "go-fast goodies" to make the car much more powerful than stock.

The horsepower today is now around 325HP (up from 225 stock), and it runs like a banshee!! I destroy any Mustang GT that gets in my path!

Other problems have been minimal... alternator, brakes and lots of tires. Interior is still immaculate today after 15 years. I just recharged the R-12 freon for the first time since the car was new! I've replaced some rubber parts due to dry rot, but overall since the rebuild, it has been a very fast, solid and reliable ride.

General Comments:

The car is still a head-turner today.

I recommend that if you buy any Firebird from the late 80's, you make the investment to modify the exhaust system. Go with headers and a 3 inch Cat-back system. SLP Stainless System or Flowmaster would be the products you need to check out. Throttle response is very noticeably improved!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

12th May 2004, 12:43

Picking on poor stock mustang GT's with your after market souped up formula banshee is not a fair in the square comparison. Go to the track and race a saleen or Mach I or Cobra and we'll see who gets the last laugh.

6th Feb 2008, 17:10

Last time I checked the Mustangs of that year range were about 225 hp (and re-rated at 205 hp in 1992) other than the '93 Cobra which was 235 hp. Guess you should get an education on the cars you want to discuss before coming on a forum quoting false information. Of course a heavily modified Firebird will take a stock Mustang. If they were both stock in these years the Mustang would beat it easily. Even the 5.7 Firebird wouldn't take a Mustang from 87-93.

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Great platform for a fast street car!

Faults:

Nothing out of the normal for a car with high miles. Paint doesn't hold up as well on the plastic parts. The drive-train has held up nicely. Interior has probably seen better days.

General Comments:

The beauty of third generation F-bodies in my opinion is that they take to performance modifications well. There are so many ways to make these cars quick. Yes, they need the help. Even the 350 TPI wasn't as quick as a 5.0 back in the day. But most of these cars are pretty cheap now.

The Trans Am has style, better aerodynamics than a Lamborghini, room for a big block, and they handle great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

1987 Pontiac Firebird GTA 350 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 350 TPI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69575 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Quick performer with classic lines

Faults:

Windshield wiper motor died.

Driver's seat is torn.

Spoiler, faded.

Power antenna stopped working.

Pop-up headlights work, when they feel like it.

Air conditioner compressor replaced.

General Comments:

With performance suspension parts added, the car launches in a straight line.

Car has power to spare.

With modified air intake flow chambers, it breathes better.

So far the drive train has been reliable.

Engine and transmission coolers keep the operating temperatures cooler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

A work of art that you can drive

Faults:

Some of the old plastic is cracking such as the seat belt sheath.

The alternator died on me at the very end of a long trip, but she got me home! The mileage was about 95500 when it happened. It was extremely easy to replace the alternator.

The door is scraping on the ground effects and causing the paint to scratch off.

General Comments:

This car is so incredibly powerful, even at the high mileage, that I had to watch myself from changing from a Toyota to the Trans Am. I keep squealing the tires when I accelerate from a light. I finally got used to it.

It is such a beautiful design and pretty car that I continually get compliments on its looks even though it is over 14 years old.

It is very easy to work on the engine of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

21st May 2001, 22:23

I love my firebird too!

I also had problems with it.

I have too put a new motor in the headlight. it might be hard but who knowz?well the chicks really dig it though!

17th Jun 2001, 16:09

I just bought an '87 T/A. It's got gobs of power and I love it. I have the same problem with the ground effects rubbing the paint off. The only other problem I have with it is that the throttle cable tends to stick. It's more annoying than anything else. It's got 83k miles on it and it runs great.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 27 reviews