2000 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2000 Pontiac Firebird WS6 Trans Am Ram Air 5.7 V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Manual
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

Fast enough for any roads around here

General Comments:

I finally was able to purchase my Ram Air. It is a 2000 WS6, I have wanted one of these since i was in school and i just turned 30. This has got to be the meanest looking car on the road right now and Pontiac doesn't even make them anymore. Does anybody no what the "WS6" stands for?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2005

19th May 2006, 17:46

"WS6" is just the lettering/numbering used on the Pontiac option code for the ram air and additional performance aspects.

I'm not aware of any particular meaning, such as SS for super sport.

14th Feb 2009, 06:36

Some say WS6 stands for.

Wheels

Suspension

6 speed.

But where does the ram air hood come into play? And not all WS-6 are manual. So to me it makes no sense. I'm sure there's reason behind it.

15th Sep 2010, 12:42

WS6 is indeed the option code for the performance package. It could be automatic or the Borg Warner 6 speed.

15th Sep 2010, 19:04

"Some say WS6 stands for.

Wheels.

Suspension.

6 speed."

...and some would be wrong. The WS6 is simply a package code for the Trans Am and Firebird that dates back to 1978, you know when they had four speeds, not six speeds.

2000 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am LS1 5.7L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission LS1 5.7L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance52322 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The trans am should be called the chick-magnet instead of the firebird

Faults:

The cables routing from the battery to the starter and alternator corroded and had to be replaced (200$).

Driver's side window motor burned out at 45,000 miles (418$).

General Comments:

This car looks better going 159 mph.

I recommend that you buy a regular non ws6 trans am and then buy an after market ram air hood. There's more availability and you can save at least 4,000$.

This car should be called the chick-magnet and not the Trans Am fire-bird.

Cops have given me complements about the car (he pulled me over going 102 mph on I-40).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2005

2000 Pontiac Firebird Convertable 3.8L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance116500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

For a V6, it does alright

Faults:

Driver side window motor has been replaced.

Numerous seal beam head lamps. Low and high beams.

Rebuilt transmission @ 115900 miles. Rebuilt with all upgrades along with a new HD touque converter.

The car is on its 3rd fan belt.

General Comments:

Rides great. Smooth, but firm. Upgraded stock tires with 255/50/16, what an improvement that was. I have a class 1 trailer hitch installed. Pulls pretty good. Needs new shocks though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2004

5th Mar 2005, 22:35

A firebird with a six-cylinder engine may not have all the performance capabilities as the WS-6, but it still is not considered a tow truck. The last thing I ever want to see on the road is a sports car that is towing a trailer. To be perfectly honest, it really sickens me. Sorry for being so critical, but that just so happens to be one of my pet peeves.

2000 Pontiac Firebird V6 Convertible 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

It surpassed my expectations

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. It runs perfect, and still is in almost new condition, 4 years and 47,000 later.

General Comments:

When I first bought this car, I thought it would have quality problems, but it certainly didn't. If you do buy this car, make sure you do it for the right reasons. If you need to regularly use the back seat, be aware that it is quite tight. Also beware of cops in this car. It is a huge attention drawer, especially if it is a bright color, like red, which mine is. Overall I would recommend this car to anyone. It has far surpassed my expectations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

3rd Mar 2005, 08:08

This car is amazing, I have never really driven this car, but I have done all the research for it and I know that if I was to buy a car, this would be the one that I choose. My teacher made up look up cars and jobs and all that jazz, so this was the one that I choose. I also had to find MPG and gas cost and oil and tires and everything. So this in fact would still be my car! Thanks for your information, it has been of great help!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews