2000 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2000 Pontiac Firebird 2 Door Coupe V6, 250HP from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6, 250HP Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Power, performance, and darn good lookin'!

Faults:

Nothing mechanical.

Quirks include door rattling and minor window and hatch leakage in the car wash. All under GM warranty.

Put your Firebird in the garage in the winter. Car handles like a greased up toboggan with a drunk seven year old at the controls.

General Comments:

A souped up V6 gives the coupe power and punch during acceleration.

Solid ride at low and high speeds.

Looks darn good. Sleek, curvy design. Blue-green chameleon paint adds extra visual appeal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

1st Jul 2001, 12:43

I'm sorry to try to fix what you said, but when I got my Firebird all it had was a 200 HP 3800 in it as do all stock Firebird V-6s. Was there some package the dealer offered or did you supe it up yourself, and if you did it yourself, please tell me what you did.

27th Jun 2007, 02:04

Thank you for our info. and I am just curious about your comment about the winter garage thing. Since I'm living in Minnesota and street parking is my only choice, do you think it's gonna hurt the car?

14th Jul 2007, 21:26

To be honest, as long as you do a oil spray every early fall and keep doing that, then the body should withstand the winter. Speaking of driving in the winter, well with the RW-Drive it's a bit of a dance at times a specially if you have that beasty 5.7L V8. Good winter tires help a lot, but you just need to develop a good feel with your gas and clutch pedal.

Good Luck Buddy

Mat.

28th Feb 2009, 14:15

3800 = 200hp, not more, maybe even less. Stock. They run good for daily driving, but don't race it because you will get smoked even by a Hyundai.

2000 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance1437 miles
Previous carFord F-250

Summary:

Too cool (T-Tops, LS1 V-8, fun to drive)

Faults:

Everything works fine. One year old but I don't have many miles on her as you can see.

General Comments:

This is my fun car for the sunny day weekend.

This car is totally awesome!!! 2001 is the last year. If you want one, better hurry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

31st Jan 2001, 01:55

The car is powerful, but I am afraid your opinion of the reliability will drastically change in a couple of years. Good luck.

23rd Mar 2001, 19:34

Yes, drastically change for the positive, when you begin to note that the 30+ year old chevy 350 design is as reliable as ever, just a lot more powerful. I wish that a 60-400 thousand dollar foreign car would have enough money allocated into it's engineering to develop simple, efficient, powerful parts like the 350. But I guess you'll have to pay them another 400 thousand dollars before they figure out how a V8 works. Don't let the previous comment fool you, few things are more reliable than the GM\Ford V8s. And for the price, nothing makes half that much power--that's meant literally.

2nd May 2001, 09:35

I hate to break the news to you but 2001 will not be the last year. Yes, they will be stopping production of them, but next year they will be sold as 2002 models. So if you think you have the last year f-body, then you are wrong.

25th Jul 2001, 13:38

Exactly right. I recently put my order in for a new 2002 fully loaded Trans Am WS6. It's the exact same car. Just a couple of more features are standard now that were an extra cost option before. Such as the Prado leather electric seats. Also it comes in a different color. And has 5 more HP making it 325hp with the WS6 option pack.

If you have the extra money though <Approx $2k more> I recommend the Firehawk option. You get 345HP, nicer hood and rear spoiler, options for better suspension systems and Auburn torque converter. Etc.

21st Aug 2001, 14:22

This car is fast, I own a WS6 Formula 2000. It has some minor problems like the turn signal stopped working and the brakes make the steering wheel shake from side to side pretty bad. Other than that, it runs great, and I will never get rid of it.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews