2000 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2000 Pontiac Firebird TransAm WS6 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carHonda S2000

Summary:

The ONLY high performance bargain

Faults:

The powered antenna had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Amazing vehicle!! I cant say enough about the reliability and performance. My car has the Ram Air WS6 package which provides the best bang for the buck I've ever encountered. I am much happier with this vehicle than my last car (Honda). If you like performance, handling and looks this is it!

The only real sacrifice is comfort for anyone other than the driver. The passenger compartment has a stupid bulge for the catayltic converter. The back seats are better than a pickup truck (I am 6' 2 and sit fine back there) but are a drag to get in and out of!

I'm getting 24mpg on the highway with 320HP!! Hee Hee. Buy one quick since I hear GM will quit making them next model year!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2000

1st Mar 2003, 21:33

I agree 99%. My power antenna is still OK. I also have a problem getting in and out of the seat. Also me biggest gripe is not being able to find a seat position in which I don't bruise my left knee and upper leg when blasting through the gears. I am only 6'1". I think an automatic version would be a more comfortable car.

22nd Apr 2004, 14:10

Do you ever get your foot caught above the foot pedal. I occasionally do when I wear boots. Also, no one over six feet would agree with you about MY 200 ws6 back seat.

14th Jun 2004, 20:47

Actually your Ws6 is making around 340hp, which is evident when beating Cobras.

21st Jun 2004, 00:09

I love the WS6, but I seriously doubt it's putting out 340 horses. Why would GM make a car seem less powerful? To boost the sales of another car? I don't think that's true, just my opinion though bondage_monkey_13@hotmail.com.

30th Oct 2004, 08:55

I have to agree with the 340 HP comment. I've run tests on fuel injected engines, and it's true, you can get more HP with time. The 325 HP rating is what you will see from a brand new engine. As the moving parts seat themselves, and the fuel injectors start to get a small amount of wear, you actually can get power growth. As the injectors wear, the holes in the tips get larger, which allows more fuel into the cylinders. Of course, if you've got 150,000 miles, parts will wear out and you'll see a power drop.

9th Aug 2007, 01:22

Plus; I read that GM really did lie about the horsepower rating to make the Corvette more appealing for it's higher price. I wouldn't doubt the higher horsepower than stated.

15th Apr 2008, 18:50

GM almost never says the actually HP. They rated the 69 L88 vette at 440 I believe, and it is actually pushing closer to 550.

2000 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS-6 5.7 L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7 L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance2375 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner SR5

Summary:

Outstanding - EVERYONE should have one at some point!

General Comments:

This is an INCREDIBLE piece of automotive machinery! Not only does this car have performance which will take your breath away, it gets looks from everyone who sees it on the street. Pontiac has it absolutely right when they say that the muscle car lives!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews