2000 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2000 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 5.7 Liter LS1 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Liter LS1 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carPontiac Pontiac

Summary:

A dream machine at a reasonable price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the vehicle to this point.

General Comments:

It is a fine example of American Muscle. It is a real head turner and sure to receive comments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

2000 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am WS6 5.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired6700 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Better than I could have Imagined

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car since I have owned it, for approximately 8 months.

General Comments:

This is an excellent vehicle. Beautiful, muscular looks (especially with the Ram Air hood), extremely powerful, and a real head turner. I would recommend buying this car, or at very least driving one. It is truly an amazing vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2004

2000 Pontiac Firebird 3.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Sleek looking lemon

Faults:

So far two starters and 1 battery.

Left mirror fell off car and I had to fight with GM to get another.

Ignition switch replaced when car refused to start.

CD player self destructed at 10k.

General Comments:

Very uncomfortable on long drives.

Only getting 22 mpg on highway, should be at least 27.

Dealership less than helpful until I contacted GM directly. Now they jump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

9th Dec 2003, 19:39

I own a 2000 Pontiac Fire bird and have had very few problems with it and/or GM. I have had my car for almost four years now and I just recently have had to replace the first battery and the motor in the door. GM is always happy to help me and has always done the best they could to take care of my car's needs.

2000 Pontiac Firebird 2000 ws6 trans am 5.7 litre ls1 engine from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 litre ls1 engine Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired112 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Extremely fast and powerful

Faults:

At around 4200 miles the car developed a "cold start engine knock". Dealer replaced with new engine under warranty.

Seat belt plastic strap guide cracked in half. Dealer replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

If you like awesome acceleration & power with aggressive looks, buy the ws6 trans am.

The dash board looks a bit cheap though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

9th Sep 2003, 13:11

Good car, but still slower then my rice burner.

24th Aug 2006, 01:53

I like the TA. but I like my Mustang a lot better. Sure a TA can beat it, but I guarantee it will last longer... and with my $600 in mods I now have 310RWHP and didn't pay a crapload for a TA. The only imports I respect are the TT Supra's... anything else looks like crap. I don't care how fast they are.

19th Nov 2006, 01:49

After you spent 600 dollars in upgrades you are still 10 hp less than what the WS6 comes with STOCK.

6th Feb 2007, 16:25

A '76 Trans am is a beautiful car, surely enough, but they're not exactly the poster child of performance. 455ci/200HP stock? My '91 Formula has more than that without saying much. In any event, it wouldn't take much to get it to the point where it'll effortlessly eat a new ricer. I wouldn't be caught dead in a Honda or something like that. In the end, the differences between the generations of cars are dramatic.

6th Jul 2007, 14:38

No offense to the mustang owner a couple of comments up, your "Mustang" won't last longer than the Trans Am's.

2000 Pontiac Firebird 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles

Summary:

A lot of car on the outside, but not much on the inside

Faults:

My first problem with the car occurred when it was less than a year old. I noticed condensation in the driver's side fog light. I had to take it to the dealership to be replaced and when they took it out, the service guys scraped the paint right below the light and my car had to be kept in the shop an extra week. Still to this day you can see where it happened. About two weeks ago (Mid September 2002 - almost one year after first incident) I noticed condensation in the same fog light again.

I have also had problems with my windows. I have had to get my car looked at twice for the same problem, the windows go up really slow and seem as if they aren't going to make it the whole way. Last week, things got worse. When I got to put my driver's side window up, it will only go up half way and I have to wait at least 2-5 minutes to get it to move, and even then it only moves a little. I have to go through this process at least three times to get the window completely up. This was not the only time it happened though, for last winter my passenger's side window got stuck when I put down the window to clear the snow off of it, but that only happened once.

The seats are starting to fade.

General Comments:

This car picks up speed fast.

It also handles sharp turns really well.

However, for the size of the car, you would think there would be a decent amount of space on the inside, but there is not. It is hard to have more than two people in the car if the front driver and passenger want to sit comfortably, without being close to the dash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews