2005 Pontiac G6 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Pontiac G6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

Do not buy if you are short

Faults:

I rented this car from Enterprise on a business trip. I am 5'1". The blind spot on the passenger side of the car for someone of my height is unacceptable. Even craning my neck around, it was really hard to tell if a car was in the lane to my immediate right. I was nervous the entire time I was in the car and will never rent this car again. Safety is much more important than comfort or attractiveness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th November, 2005

16th Jun 2006, 16:14

I don't really think this counts as an actual review. You should have tested the car before renting, and if it didn't meet to your likings, gotten another car. Just look at some Toyotas, they have HORRIBLE blind spots. But then, that's me. You may or may not say the same thing. I think this review isn't really good at all. What about all the other things like performance etc???

25th Feb 2008, 21:54

I agree with the last comment. I once rented a Toyota Corolla and the visibility was incredibly bad. I typically drive an SUV, so I'm used to a nice view all around the car; because of that I wasn't going to rent another sedan the second time I had to, but I finally went with the Pontiac G6 and the visibility was more than acceptable.

2005 Pontiac G6 Base 3.5L OHV V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L OHV V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance7600 miles
Previous carFord Taunus

Summary:

A good, if somewhat pricey, vehicle

Faults:

Extremely annoying rattling present in dash.

Driver-side window switch for passenger window has partially failed and requires additional pressure relative to other switches to raise the window. Sometimes even this does not work.

General Comments:

The G6 is a superb vehicle from Pontiac, and the best car from that division of GM I've yet driven.

Driving the car is a fun experience. The automatic shifts firmly and authoritatively, down-shifts are immediate with proper pedal pressure, and the engine produces plenty of thrust, easily out-accelerating the Taurus I formerly owned.

Gas mileage is not particularly impressive, but is still adequate. I get around 25mpg in the city and 29.7+ on the highway.

The G6 exhibits superb handling, as most professional reviewers have noted. Body movement in turns is well controlled, squat and dive during changes in speed is minimal, and the car generally feels as if, even though it weighs quite a bit, it can nonetheless cut corners with the best of them. The handling inspires confidence.

Braking is superb. The four-wheel discs bring the car to a stop in a hurry, even without ABS. Just the other night I made a panic stop to avoid a deer and was able to keep the wheels from locking up, thanks to the firm and responsive pedal.

The major flaw in the G6 is in the electric steering. GM has been utilizing this system in a few vehicles in favor of the older rack-and-pinion setup, and I'm not fond of it. The wheel is too light at low speeds, and offers NO resistance whatsoever to most maneuvers on the road. As the driver, I feel like it would be too easy to just manhandle the steering wheel to any position, as there's no progressive feel to the steering. Same resistance no matter what the maneuver or speed, except in the parking lot.

Inside, the G6 maintains a good edge over Pontiac's other products. The interior is a huge improvement over the Grand Am. Buttons are more logically placed and easier to operate. I've received lavish praise from passengers regarding the chrome-looking trim around the instrumentation, as well as the orange back-lighting. Cup holders are reasonably well-placed and large enough to do the job. The central console is large, as is the trunk. There is plenty of room in both the front and back seats.

The stereo sounds amazing. The six speakers put out plenty of sound, and never really begin to fail unless you crank bass-heavy music, which will show you that a subwoofer is still required for such things. Still, the bass is adequate even past 50% volume. The overall presentation of the stereo has earned a few complements as well. One friend called it the best stock car audio system he's ever heard.

Visibility from the G6 is not particularly good. It has a very high belt line, which translates into smallish rear windows, and the high rear end and full headrests in the backseat limit rearward visibility considerably.

The G6 feels quite upscale for a Pontiac, and I don't at all feel ashamed about driving one. The bottom line, however, is that it's not the best bargain on the market right now, in my opinion. For example, the sticker on my vehicle was $22,500, and it lacked such a simple thing as ABS. Few other automakers with products in this price range would choose such a thing. Also, we've yet to see if the car will prove to be reliable.

Still, if you're looking for a solid-feeling sedan with plenty of passenger room and enough power to get you around in a hurry, the G6 is right for you. With all of GM's incentives, the price can be turned into something more appropriate for your budget, regardless of the seemingly high sticker price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

3rd Sep 2005, 20:47

I don't believe GM produced the Pontiac G6 until the 2005 model year. Are you sure you are speaking of the right vehicle?

6th Oct 2005, 15:33

I'm sure the guy meant 2005. His opinions were well-written, so he didn't come off as an idiot. I too am a big fan of the G6 and would disagree that it is overpriced. However, most of the review I would agree with (I like the electronic steering BTW).

2005 Pontiac G6 V6 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance7100 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Excellent car from Pontiac

Faults:

The only problem with the car was the compact disk player, which failed with only a few hours of use.

General Comments:

The G6 is a fine piece of design work, and is also well built. It borrows major components from its sister cars at Chevy and SAAB (and thus has established reliability and maintainability), but is still a bold and unique design.

Handling is excellent, due in part to a long wheelbase. There is plenty of horsepower, yet it gives great gas mileage (in my case, 30 mpg as reported by the on-board computer, despite heavy city driving).

It is comfortable and roomy, and has plenty of features, but does not create "gadget overload". A fine mix of practicality and style. The team at Pontiac did their homework.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2005

2005 Pontiac G6 GT 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Great highway cruiser

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This car is a 200hp, front wheel drive. It's very comfortable, better quality interior plastics then my 2003 Grand Am. I do not have the panoramic sunroof since it's unnecessary as I live in Canada.

The only bad thing I can think about this car is that it's basically like a Malibu, but with slightly different styling, as a lot of GM cars are like that (Sunfire/Cavalier, Montana/Venture).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2004

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews