2005 Pontiac G6 from North America

Summary:

This car has a lot of glitches

Faults:

The car, from time to time, will not start. I have to jump start the battery (even though it is fully charged) to get the car to start. I now carry a portable battery jumper (first time I've ever had to do this).

The CD player does not work, I cannot even get my Cd's out of it.

I took it to the dealer to be fixed, asked for a loaner car which they provided through a rental car place. They called me the next day and told me they could not find anything wrong with it, and didn't want to pay any more rental car fees, and to come pick it up.

The trim peeled off the side.

The driver door does not stay open. When I open it, I then must hurriedly jump out of the way as it slams shut.

General Comments:

This is probably the biggest lemon I have ever owned.

However, it is a cool looking car, especially with the sun roof opened all the way. I like the way it drives (when it starts), and it accelerates beautifully, which comes in handy because I tend to pull out in front of people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2007

3rd Mar 2008, 22:42

Okay, you have 122k miles on it, so obviously it won't be spectacular. Its practically scrap metal now, so you can't say that you honestly expect to drive the bejeebers out of a car and expect it to last forever.

4th Jun 2008, 17:52

What the heck? 122k miles should be nothing for a car this new; the car should still be running as tight as a drum. You should demand something be done about your car.

9th Jun 2008, 10:07

As someone who has put over 300,000 miles one one domestic, and over 200,000 on about a dozen more, I have to agree with comment 17:52.

The car is only 22,000 miles out of warranty and definitely should NOT be having ANY problems this soon. I'd try to get GM to check it out at no charge. I've never had any problems with my Ford, GM or Chrysler vehicles before 200,000 miles. This is not typical, especially for GM.

2005 Pontiac G6 from North America

Summary:

Love the car, hate the roof!

Faults:

The rattles and wind noise from the panoramic sun roof. The roof looks cool, but the noise is driving me crazy. Every bump in the road seems to cause a new noise. It is now in for about the 5th time with the same complaint. I would buy another one, but pass on the panoramic roof. Just replace the rotors at 24,000 miles. They were unable to turn them because they were too thin. Really odd at this low of miles and never replaced before. The brake pad that was on them was for a G6 and not a GTP.. not sure about that.

General Comments:

The Pontiac G-6 GTP is a comfortable car. It looks nice, drives great, has plenty of leg and head room for both front and back seat passengers and driver. The options are great.. foot pedal adjusting, heated seats, 6 disc cd changer and much more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2007

1st Aug 2008, 16:00

I agree totally - while the panoramic sunroof is a great feature, which I used quite a bit, the mechanism failed to close for some yet unknown reason at about 2 1/2 years old. The parts and labor to fix it are extremely expensive and because GM does stock the module (note: be afraid of "SPAC" case parts), it will be approximately 5 weeks from failure to fix for me. Anyone else out there... you are likely better off with a G6 with a standard sunroof.

2nd Mar 2009, 08:54

The roof is a fantastic feature! Yes, it may need adjusting and yes, it is a bit noisy, but it is just too cool and awesome. You get used to the noise. They can adjust the roof, but they do need to know how to adjust it. I took mine in for adjustment three times. The third time, they mentioned they had the supplier out to train them on how to adjust the roofs for noise. The third time was the charm and it is fine now.

1st Jun 2009, 01:10

The car is okay for the price. But I have to agree that I absolutely HATE the roof. I was kind of up and down about it when I first got it, but though it was unique and cool. I now am getting another car mostly cuz the roof. It is extremely noisy and I cannot stand it.