1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 from North America


I like it!


I bought the 1995 Grand Am just last month. It had a low end knock, but I wasn't too concerned about it at the time. I had a motor from my previous car, a 1996 Chevy Monte Carlo, that I knew would work if something happened to the motor in the Grand Am.

So anyhow, two days after I bought the car, the motor died. Boy I wasn't expecting it so fast, but hey it happens and I knew I was taking that risk.

Overall I am happy with the car. It is in excellent condition inside and out. I can't complain, not even with a blown motor because I only paid $1300 for the car, and I was made aware of the problem with the knock at the time I bought it.

The motor from the Monte Carlo is going into the Grand Am now, and I look forward to having my car back. As far as those with the Quad 4 motor, sorry to hear about all the problems. I guess I am partial to the 3.1 - I would absolutely buy another car with that motor without blinking twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

1995 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.3 DOHC from North America


Piece of Crap


Everything has gone wrong with the car.

I bought a whole new motor after having it only 6 months.

My Seat was broken and gas gauge doesn't work good at all.

General Comments:

I hate this car with all my heart!! Please don't ever buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2006

17th Mar 2006, 15:42

I've said this before here and I'll say it again. It's an 11 year old car. You are going to have issues with any vehicle as it starts getting to the end of it's life cycle. This is normal, your expectations are not.

1995 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.1L V6 from North America


Money pit, but a nice money pit


Replaced wheel bearing at 127k.

Serpentine belt at 130k.

Stabalizer arms, rotors, shoes, pads at 139k.

Radiator at 140k.

I need to re-wire my speakers.

And now this:

My car overheats like mad (260+) when driving for the first few minutes, then the temperature drops down to a little over 100. Then it will continue to randomly spike for, oh, 15 or so minutes. After that it will only heat up while idling. When I am at stoplights, sitting in my driveway, or what have you, it will heat up to 220, but when I rev the engine, or continue driving, it will fall back down to normal range. I am pretty sure that when it heats up that water is not circulating (heat goes cold). I have replaced the thermostat (replaced twice, just for good measure, as it didn't work after the first one), and I am pretty sure that it is neither the water pump nor the head gasket. Any ideas?

General Comments:

The seats are comfy.

It handles really well in the winter (Minnesotan winters).

It is insanely nice on the interstate, cruises well at 85-90 mph while still getting great gas mileage. I can make it from Minneapolis, MN to Lincoln, NE on one tank of gas, and that's over 430 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 23:05

I'm having the exact problem with my '95 am. Not sure what to do yet.

6th Jan 2006, 12:25

Yep, sounds like debris cycling through and plugging things up. When the engine gets warm the debris gets thinner and moves through, like wise when you increase the circulation rate (revving) it moves the blockage through. All the other time it is running debris builds up and plugs the coolant system. Flush it, check the core coolant valve and it should be fine.

12th May 2006, 05:17

I'm not sure if you can purchase the damaged piece that your talking about. However it is never a good idea to open the rad cap when the car is hot. Your lucky that you didn't burn yourself severely. You can take the cap off on the overflow, but never on the rad itself.

Good luck.

18th Jul 2006, 21:19

95 Grand Am overheating... still!!!

I have a 95 Grand Am that overheats when idling in town after highway driving. I have replaced the thermostat, water pump, radiator, and hoses, as well as the overflow cap... still overheating. Pressure test came back good, and had the system flushed.

Any suggestions?

18th Oct 2006, 12:18

Are you guy sure your fan is coming on when it gets hot. Its electric and only comes on when the motor gets hot I had similar problems and that was what was wrong.

4th Dec 2006, 09:49


I have had all of the problems and more with my 1995 GE SE. I have replaced the engine, radiator, water pump, fuel pump, and on. Finally, my new mechanic found out that there is an electrical short which keeps the relays from coming/staying on and sending the message to the fan to turn on. The mechanic has "straight wired" the relays to the fan, so now the fan comes on as soon as the car is started, keeping it from overheating.

Although I have had other minor problems, I felt I could live with the car as long as it didn't run hot. I finally grew sick of it and sold it to my mechanic. Hope he makes his money back...