1998 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 5 of 13

1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.4 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned

Faults:

A fuse blew.

General Comments:

I don't know why everyone is calling this car a piece of crap. it must just be the driver because I even race mine and the only thing that has ever gone wrong with it was a 90 cent fuse that took 5 seconds to replace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance293000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Great, reliable car

Faults:

Changed Alternator

Replaced Windshield

Replaced Flex hose on exhaust

Paint above passenger wheel wells flaking off.

General Comments:

I really like this car, even with the high amount of kilometers, it performs well, the engine has a lot of power, and runs very clean.

I would buy another if this one ever died on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.1 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

This car is one constant headache

Faults:

Replaced the alternator at 40,000 miles.

CD player stopped working at 22,000 miles.

Replaced Cat. Converter 58,000 miles.

Replaced water pump at 60,000 miles.

Replaced failed O2 sensors at 78,000 miles.

Engine block cracked at 98,000 miles.

Replaced water pump again at 145,000 miles.

Lots of noise from inside car.

Door panels inside falling apart.

Car has never been comfortable on trips.

Fog lights burn out quickly. Dealership could never figure this one out.

General Comments:

Car ran great for the first 2 years. I have had many engine problems with both motors. It is not a very dependable car and I will not purchase another GM product as I have been very displeased with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st December, 2004

26th Dec 2004, 00:27

I just got a 97 GT with over 97,000 miles on it. So far it's running great, but with all these horror stories I'm a bit scared right now.

23rd Apr 2005, 11:19

Well. These things are supposed to wear out on any car. Its unfair to blame poor maintenance on the car.

21st Nov 2008, 13:25

I have a 97 Grand Am SE with the 4-banger I like it. I just had a chip put in it good and fast but I hat that it cuts out at 105. I have had at least 5 expensive technical malfunctions with it but that probably because it has well over 200k. I don't know how some cars exactly like mine get 30, when my car on a good day gets 23, even when I drive it nice.

1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.4 Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Good

Faults:

The power motor on the drivers side window has went out. The car some times stalls when i put it in reverse. Also, the car seems to die out and then i push the gas and it's fine. The paint on the spoiler is starting to fade. The knob for the mirrors fell through the hole and is broken. For the most part i will never buy a Pontiac again.

General Comments:

The car is good except for those certain aspects of the vehicle. It drives good and is a pretty fast car when it wnats to be. The brakes are the one thing that the car has problems with all the time. For the most part i would like to sell my car to get a better one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

1998 Pontiac Grand Am 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carPontiac Pontiac

Summary:

It's an alright car for an average middle class Joe!

Faults:

I put this in about a month after I bought it... I stuck around $1500 into it

- Needed new brakes

- Needed new wheel bearings

- Needed new struts

- Needed a new drive shaft - or something of that nature...

General Comments:

Though I have stuck quite a bit of money into it, the car is pretty nice... It handles great on the road, uses very little gas on highway, the interior is alright, not luxury, but good enough for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2004

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98 miles
Most recent distance108500 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Great reliable car

Faults:

Alternator went out at 108,000 miles.

Anti-lock brake light comes on occasionally even though the anti-lock system is working properly.

Radio/Cassette player display doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car has been a dream to own. It has only given me minor problems the entire time I have owned the car. The most annoying thing that is wrong with the car is the radio display doesn't work at all, even though the radio works fine. I have really enjoyed owning this car and would purchase another one from the manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2004

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 50 reviews