1998 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 6 of 13

1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Offers everything you need, but with risk

Faults:

The head gasket blew in 2003; miles were around 120,000. Was expensive to replace.

Air conditioner compressor did not work when I bought the car in 2002. Was expensive to replace.

1 6x9 and 1 4x6 were blown out when I bought the car in 2002. 6x9's were difficult and ridiculous to replace. Had to remove the whole back panel and seats.

Starting at the end of 2003, paint on the spoiler is wearing away.

Fog lights kept going out, even after being replaced.

Windshield wipers needed replaced in 2003.

General Comments:

I have the GT model. It is black with the spoiler and GT body kit.

Regardless of the problems, I love my car. It offers several things that I personally prefer with a car: V6, CD player, keyless entry, comfortable seats, good gas mileage, 4 doors, sporty exterior, cruise control, automatic transmission, and plenty of cup holders (4).

One thing I do not like is that whatever problems I do have with the car, they are either complicated or expensive. One of my favorite things about this car is the fact that it is speedy, yet is good on gas. The acceleration is pleasing and does the job, however, the car really jerks when the transmission shifts to start really speeding up.

I do not think I will buy another Pontiac. I owned a 1991 Sunbird. I bought it in late 2000/early 2001 at 78,000 miles. When the car approached 90,000 miles, it started to malfunction and just completely break down. I don't fully trust Pontiac, nor will I risk them in the future.

I am shopping around right now for a new car, and a Honda Accord is currently on my mind...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2004

7th Jun 2004, 12:50

OK, I have a 95 Grandam GT, tops out at about 130, first of all...GT'S ARE NOT 4 DOOR!

13th Oct 2005, 09:58

Yes, GT's can be four door. I have one!

16th Nov 2005, 15:16

I've got a 4 door GT as well.

29th Mar 2006, 11:28

I have a 4 door gt also.

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

Would never by another GM again!!

Faults:

Problems with electric door locks--unlock and lock by themselves while driving the car.

Faulty Water Pump.

Brakes constantly need to be replaced.

Car sputtering on start up and ready to stall then, idle catches and is fine until you stop at a light.

After new ignition relay recall, ignition relay was replaced, now ran into other problems with mass air flow sensor and oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

Car was a great car when I bought it, after warranty expired, started having electrical problems with the door locks.

Interior still very nice, but no so comfortable on long trips.

Every few months, brakes need to be replaced!!

Every few months, something goes wrong with car! Car costs A lot to keep maintained!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2004

4th Jun 2007, 22:25

If you're complaining about the brakes...

Brake wear is due to how you drive. If, for example, you speed up until about 25 ft ahead of a stop, and then slow down really fast, your breaks WILL wear down fast. Also, if you break a lot while traveling at high speeds, that creates a lot of friction and also wears on breaks a lot.

If this isn't the case, maybe spend a day adjusting them.

1998 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

Worth buying for a GOOD deal

Faults:

The car got new tires at 100,000 miles.

Black paint is chipping on mirrors, rear spoiler is fading and starting to crack.

The seatbelt is twisted beyond fixing which is annoying.

The side window controller fell into the door.

The manual windows are hard to roll down on the drivers side, and the passenger side will not roll down at all.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive, but occasionally I can feel it miss. I do not put cheap gasoline in it because of the number of miles on it.

I bought it from my brother because I was in need of a car in an emergency. I will drive it until it dies.

Trunk is very roomy.

Seating is nice and spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

12th Feb 2006, 18:59

I had the same problem and all we did was take the cover off the doors and lube them up good and now windows work great... also the mirror control fell in and all it had to be is put back I place... no cost to fix those... just time..

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 50 reviews