1999 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 78 of 78

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE II 2.4 6 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 6 cyl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Truck 4x4

Summary:

Fun little rusty white rocket!

Faults:

Warped rotors at 5,000 miles.

Battery died at 30,000.

Noticed the paint was bad 3 weeks after I bought it.

General Comments:

The car had white paint and there were black flecks all over it which turned into rust. It spread all over the car. Went to 3 different dealerships, all said it was rail dust. They tried a couple of different quick-fixes, but could not fix it permanently and would not repaint it. They said I was being too picky and I should just live with it. Got the runaround from the corporate office too. I finally just gave up. Never,EVER buy a WHITE CAR!!! Every white car I have seen (old or new) has this problem. The manufacturers continue to push this onto unsuspecting buyers and then refuse to take responsibility for it.

Other than the paint, I loved the car, very responsive and very quick, handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

31st Jan 2001, 19:06

My suggestions would be to paint the car yourself. There are many places that you can go to for this. Maybe if you leave the paint with rust specs it will worsen, so I would definitely paint it... especially if it runs good and is fairly new.

7th May 2001, 08:33

My car was rotten as well, until I applied a coat of acrylic PTFE paint cleaner sealant called Toughseal. I can only suggest you buy some.

www.paintprotection.com

17th May 2001, 11:54

This car has been wrecked now. We sold it to a scrap-yard. Good riddance! Would never have tried to get it repainted (waste of money). Pontiac service sucks!

1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carChrysler Duster

Summary:

UH!

Faults:

We have had a lot of problems with the front end and brakes on our Grand Am. The car is just over a year old and we have literally been to the dealership 1-12 times for front end rubbing and grinding sounds.

In addition to having difficulty with the dealership fixing our car, we tried to contact our Pontiac sales representitive. This gentleman covers 3 states in our area. So you can image of the customer service we received. We contacted the Pontiac Customer Service line almost 1 month ago and have yet to sit down and discuss "our lemon" with the sales rep.

Pontiac has a great selection of cars, but what matters to me also is the customer service after the sale!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

18th Dec 2000, 14:46

I have a 2000 Grand Am . I just bought it in the beginning of December 2000. It had 27k on it when I bought it.

A week after I had it I began to realise that there was a RUBBING SOUND in the front end. I have not taken it to the dealer yet. I know I will get the run around if I call them. Personally I believe it is the BF Goodrich tires. I do not know if these are the original tires, but I found that if I over inflate the front tires to about 38psi the noise goes away. I am thinking about replacing the tires.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 264 reviews