2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT Ram Air 3.4 from North America


I love my car!


Having some minor issues with the tire noises. I am also a little concerned about the recalls that GM has placed on these cars since their release for production.

General Comments:

Did a little research based on comments posted on this site and foind that

www.alldata.com has some wonderful information regarding automotive recalls by all manufacturers.

The recall number for the tire squeak noise is 02-03-10-003, and it was created in June of 2002. There is also a recall number 01-03-08-002B created in April of 2003 for front suspension noise described as a clunk/rattle.

There are also a few recalls for other complaints listed on this site, and they are really too numerous for me to list here, so please take a little time and visit www.alldata.com to find the rest of the recalls.

I like working on my car in my spare time, so I don't mind fixing the little things, but some of these are way beyond my capabilities as a shade tree mechanic. Hope this helps, and please don't let one bad apple spoil your opinion of the entire crop of GM products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2004

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.0 V6 from North America


It's a money pit and an otherwise crappy car


The coolant started to leak three months after I bought it (after the warranty period had expired, of course). The mechanic said it needed a gasket replaced, whatever gasket commonly cracks on this car. Cost $700.

The gas gage stopped working when I had 1/8th of a tank left, and therefore I ran out of gas. The gage is in the gas tank attached to the fuel pump, so the whole fuel pump had to be replaced. $600.

Brakes started grinding at about 50,000 miles. Then started vibrating at 52,000. The rotors, although nearly brand new, were warped and needed to be replaced. Now a little over 10,000 miles later the brakes are grinding again and just starting to vibrate.

The hazard switch was replaced once by the dealer under warranty and did not stop audible turn signal from clicking whenever it wanted. Replaced again under recall. Still clicks whenever it feels like.

Occasionally, the clock display will only partially work when I first start the car. It will work properly within 5 minutes.

The idiot lights will come on for no reason every now and then.

General Comments:

I bought this car because I really wanted a stylish V6 and a good upgrade from my Cavalier. Turns out it was a bad choice. The car handles poorly and is noisy in the interior. The brakes, though they stop the car well, go bad about every 10,000 miles. The hazard switch thing is driving me nuts! And besides that I spent $1300 on it in repairs and I've had it for less than a year!

Save yourself the trouble and get something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 Liter SFI from North America


Quick, Reliable, can easily be worked on


Most of the problems I have had on this vehicle is general wear and tear. Wearable items, brake pads, drive belts, rotors, have all been replaced. If you put the time and investment in this car, you can have a great time with it. If you let other "peoples" (dealerships, mechanics) do your maintenance for you, you are going to get ripped off and they will definitely sabotage your vehicle in ways that will make you mad, but the sabotage is so minuscle if you complained, you would have no case. I have done all of the maintenance for my grand am, and I have had no problems with it. I have read some other reviews by others, and it leads me to believe they got taken to the cleaners. Not that I care about these people losing money, It makes me laugh.

General Comments:

The passenger seat doesn't work right, mainly because obese people ruin seats. I don't believe GM ever made seats to get hurled backwards by a 350 pound person and survive. So any comments about the seats, WE LIVE IN AMERICA.

I have done a lot of work on this car in sooping it up. There is one thing GM did to lower its potential from the factory. The ram air system is not ram air capable until you plug up the extra hole in the air filter box. There is a whole on the bottom of the box that lets all of the intaking air escape before going into the engine. I believe GM did this to make engines die quicker, have less horse power, and less fuel efficiency. I have plugged this hole up and gained incredible horse power after 35 MPH. I have also added a performance exhaust system to my vehicle. With the ram air modifications and the extreme exhaust, I now get 30 miles to the gallon city driving. I have not tested this on highway yet, but I would have to imagine I would get 40 miles to the gallon. I highly recommend closing the ram air boxes extra hole, get a K&N air filter, and ripping out the extremely constrictive GM exhaust and putting a performance exhaust on. The exhaust cost me 450 dollars, 80 for the air filter, some duct tape for the air filter box hole. All in all, the car has incredible pick up and speed with these modifications, and I think people are surprised to see this car fly down the road. Over all, if you take care of your car, It is an impressive peace of machinery. I Love my Grand Am GT and I look forward to keeping it till it falls to the ground.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

9th Dec 2005, 11:21

Amen Brother!! I plugged the hole in the Air Filter box and the difference was impressive immediately! Thanks for the tip, I've been looking for a quick way to get a little more out of the performance of my '00 GT.

13th Apr 2008, 19:54

We bought anew 2000 Grand Am G.T. in July 2000. We now have 80,000 care-free miles, other than a battery, and new tires at 65,000 miles, and general maintenance, this has been an excellent, trouble-free automobile. Car still looks new, and rides and handles like new. Great car.