2000 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 30 of 54

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinger from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinger Don't Know
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance46550 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

It's a car

Faults:

My front brakes have been replaced 3 times.

Signals work only when you turn the hazard light on.

General Comments:

This was my dream car when I first purchased it. Interior & exterior are nice colors. Other than the brakes and turn signals I've had no major problems as of yet. But those are enough problems to be concerned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

24th Sep 2004, 00:12

I also have a 2000 Grand Am SE and had problems with the signal lights. They would go out and in order to make them work, I would have to hit the hazard lite button and they would come back on. Pontiac has a recall on the hazard switch so I took mine in and they replaced it (NC) and have not had a problem since then. Check with the dealer to see what they say. My dealer didn't tell me, I told them.

Good luck.

28th Nov 2004, 07:30

I, too, own a 2000 Pontiac Grand Am after totaling my 1999.

I'm very unhappy with the 2000 model. I've had it in for service about 6 times since I purchased it in 2001.

I've had issues with the brakes grinding, having to replace pads too often, replacing the hazard light switch, which was causing my blinkers too just quit (and had to pound on hazard light console to get them to work), driver side window motor went out ($400+ to replace), water pump went out, continual leaks with use of AC, and tires wear quickly.

My extended warranty expires in Jan. '05 and I'm going to sell it, even though I still owe $3,700 on the thing. I just don't trust this vehicle. I can't afford to own a car that is in constant need of extremely costly repair.

My 1999 Grand Am was a beauty and I NEVER had it in for repair... not ONCE. I'm getting rid of the '00 and going back to a '99... just because of the reliability of it... and I'm hoping I don't get a lemon like the one I currently have.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired700 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carMazda Sedan

Summary:

The sporty mom ride!!

Faults:

I have read on this site about the brake and rotor noises everyone has complained about. I have had the same problem. Two different reasons behind it. First was the Eagle GT's that came on the car. My dealer even said they were noisy tires. Also, at 10,000 - 12,000 miles, the strut mounts go out of "speck" I have had to replace these, under warranty, 4 times. My dealer also informed me that this is very common. As for the turn signal and electrical problems, there is a recall out for this.

General Comments:

I really enjoy my car, she squeak and groans, but what car doesn't. All 5 of my cars have their own personality noises.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Car looks great BUT it's a money pit.

Faults:

My fuel pump went out at 44,000 miles. Brakes started grinding 2 week's ago.

General Comments:

Had brakes and rotors replaced 2 week's ago. Started grinding immediately, replaced them again today still same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2004

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

This car will only make a fish happy!

Faults:

When I first bought my car my back shocks went out.

My starter went out around 50,000 miles.

I have changed my rotors twice and have changed my brake pads numerous times. My calipers need to be replaced because they are sticking.

I replaced my fuel pump at 70,000 miles.

Replaced my alternator around 60,0000 miles.

My passeger side window is broken due to one piece and I have to buy the whole set for $275.

My climate control knob is broken.

My drivers side door will not go up.

My side mirrors have broken off 3 times.

My transmission has been rebuilt twice and is still not correct.

My fans do not turn on to cool my engine.

Lights in the dash board are going out.

Gone through 5 sets of tires.

Replaced my tire rods at 80,000 miles.

My CV joints are going out.

My blinkers burn out all the time due to condensation getting in the lights.

My back passenger speaker is blown.

General Comments:

I will never buy a GM car ever again, after spending my life savings on fixing this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

18th Jul 2004, 10:44

5...Count them...5 sets of TIRES!?!?!?!?!?

26th Sep 2004, 06:08

I bought my 2000 grand am with 52,000 miles on it.

Right off the bat I needed new struts.

About two weeks after that I needed new calipers.

Then my power window locks froze up. I could only operate my windows with the driver side controls.

Now my blinkers are acting up. There is a short some where. When they don't work I have to turn on my HAZARD lights, then turn them off and my blinkers will work. But only for that one time. If I want to turn the blinkers on I first have to turn my HAZARDS on and off. Which is extremely frustrating.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 187 reviews