2000 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 32 of 54

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A great looking performance car

Faults:

Water was leaking into the car from fresh air vent.

The blower resistor went bad due to leak.

Water was leaking into the car from both doors.

A knob broke off of climate control.

The blinker stopped working.

Car does not start easily.

General Comments:

This car replaced my first Grand Am.

I love my car despite it's faults.

I was unhappy to find that my car had leaks in the same locations as the previous one.

I no longer trust that General Motors will built quality cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Over priced CRAP!

Faults:

I have had nothing but problems with this car. The drivers side window stopped working at 30,000 miles I paid 700 to get it fixed. The shocks and brakes have been replaced twice at 45,000 miles and at 56,000 miles. I have had to replace my drivers side rim at 45,000 miles that was a 500 dollar job! The ignition also went out at 50,000 miles that was a 270 dollar job. Now I have problems in the tire well 390 dollars and my radiator is shot at 60,000 miles!

General Comments:

This car is a heap of crap! It cost's to much money to fix and is broke down all of the time. Don't buy a Grand Am unless you are willing to spend thousands of dollars fixing it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

28th May 2004, 15:19

I have 54,000 miles on this vehicle and it has been through two major brake Jobs. the Window on the Driver side door broke at least the track that the window rest on the ignition is out starter broke. The Shock are terrible I can't believe I paid for this car I got in in June 2000 and only drove it on the weekend practiclly.

Don't purchase this vehicle if you have a small vehicle budget.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance970000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A nice "Fixer Up!"

Faults:

I have had water in the rear reverse lights which have been fixed/re-sealed numerous times.

The "turn signal element" was replaced due to a clicking noise happening from time to time without the signal on.

The fuel pump was replaced, followed a week later by the power steering.

The "speed sensor" is now out causing the Service Vechicle Soon, ETS and ABS lights to come on. Also no ABS.

General Comments:

Seeing other comments from people, it seems like there's been a lot of similar problems with this car however it appears that aren't many recalls to fix the same problems.

Love the car as it's a great ride and nice get up and go. At close too 100,000 miles and ($100,000 in repairs) it still gets great gas mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A beautiful car to have

Faults:

I had to replace the front brake rotors within two weeks of buying the car. Not a big deal.

Also replaced front brake pads.

General Comments:

The car has amazing performance. The 3.4L V6 is super powerful.

The handling is extremely tight and smooth even at higher speeds.

The dash setup is quite stylish and unique. All controls are easily accessible.

The seats could be a little more comfortable. Probably would be if I had the Lumbar controls.

There is lots of room inside the car and inside the trunk.

I have to wonder where some people buy auto parts. I've purchased high quality parts and haven't come close to spending as much as some quoted prices. It also helps to do some repairs for yourself instead of running to dealer every time there is a squeak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Caused a great deal of stress

Faults:

Repeated failure of hazard/turn signal switch. Been to the dealer 5 times to get it fixed and now it's happening again. There is a recall, but GM says that my VIN number is not in the recall.

Faulty suspension when the car was picked up from the dealer. The problem has repeated itself 3 times.

Clear coat keeps peeling off around the rear windshield. Now that my warranty has expired I have to continue fixing this problem by paying out of my pocket.

Heater, AC fan failed to work on settings 1 and 2. Problem occurred 3 times.

Console shows rapid rise in engine temperature when idling even for a couple of minutes. On the 2002 Toyota RAV4 this does not happen at all.

Too many rattling noises from behind the dash and passenger seat.

General Comments:

Even though most of the stressing problems have been electrical and not mechanical I would not buy another GM car again.

If you are planning on buying a GM car make sure you get comprehensive extended warranty, you'll need it. Or try a Japanese car. The RAV4 is very reliable, zero problems and it's at 70,000km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

5th Mar 2004, 17:51

I have to say you've had poor luck with the Grand Am. I've owned my Grand Am for almost a year and it has never given me any problems... it was all human error. If you bought it used, chances are, it was in an accident that the dealer didn't tell you about. I would say test drive another grand am and you'll change your mind.

14th Aug 2004, 21:38

My Heater/AC fan also does not work on 1 and 2, I thought it was just so low that you couldn't feel it. And my signal switch went, I heard there is a recall on it.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 187 reviews