2000 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 37 of 54

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GL 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29100 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

A piece of CRAP, don't buy one!

Faults:

The a/c / heater does not work on 1 or 2.

My blinkers short out 90% of the time I am driving.

My battery dies if the car is not running even if it is only for two minutes with the radio on.

I did go out to start my car and won't turn over.

So I had the fuel filter replaced, Nothing.

IF I detach the air filter from the engine and spray this gas stuff straight into the engine the car starts, but as soon as the gas evaporates the car dies.

I do not recomend buying this car what so ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2003

30th Sep 2003, 12:11

It's hard to take your review seriously because they don't make a Grand Am called a GL. Although my blinkers don't work 75% of the time either - they are going to do a recall (finally!) on 2000/2001 Grand Am, Aleros and Malibus for that problem so keep checking your mail, they said it should be sent out in the first quarter of 2004.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

The brakes and rotors have been replaced at least 4 times in the last 2 years.

The speedometer quit working shortly after I got the car.

The seats hardly ever sit upright.

The fan only works on 3,4, and 5.

There is a noise coming from the front drivers side that no one can identify.

General Comments:

I really like the looks of the car, but you definitely don't get what you pay for!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2003

8th Sep 2003, 08:03

Regarding your fan problem, I had the same thing happen to me a couple of years ago - it was an integrated circuit that burned (I happened to notice the smell when it burnt.) I had it replaced and it's been working fine since.

Hope you got that speedometer fixed. :)

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 6 cylinder - Ram Air from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder - Ram Air Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

JUNK!

Faults:

Constantly replacing breaks.

Electronically unsound, i.e. locks when keys are not in the ignition.

Fog lights come on during the night when we're sleeping and runs battery down (no key in ignition).

Blinkers and horn sometimes works.

Have had to replace both window tracts and one window switch and you have to replace to hole window tracts not just the small casing that breaks.

Shuts down while running on the highway and diagnostic test don't reveal a problem.

GM parts are outrageously priced (especially when most of the parts are plastic).

General Comments:

I too own a 2000 Pontiac Grand-Am GT and have had the same break problems, the same engine quiting while driving at highway speeds, and I woke up one morning to find that the fog lights had come on (on their own - with no key in the ignition) and ran my battery down. There was no way to disconnect them without unplugging the lights themselves. I am tired of pumping money into this car to continually wonder what will be next. I will not buy another Pontiac. You'd think I would have learned from the previous one I had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

19th Aug 2004, 14:32

Had the same problem with the fog lights, they would not turn off. The dealer replaced the fog light relay. I think its located under the end cover the passenger side. It took 2 minutes to replace it.

31st Mar 2005, 06:54

My Pontiac has been a piece of crap as well. I have so many problems. I have that fog light problem too. id wake up in the morning and see my fogs lights have been on all night. I have had coolant leaking problems.. my flex pipe of my exhaust has just recently snaped.. everything is messed up with it. seems like I'm always dumping more money into the car. pretty looking car just has so many problems.

17th May 2006, 17:07

I too own a 2000 Pontiac Grand AM GT and it shuts down at highway speeds on me. Did you ever get this fixed?

Please let me know. I am running out of money trying to fix the problems with this car. I will never buy another Grand AM.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 187 reviews